We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited service on major holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was our fourth visit to Homewood suites in Sandston Virginia so obviously we like it. We stayed there over Thanksgiving and no housekeeping service was available on the holiday. In their rush to leave for the holiday, they left some dirty silverware in the cupboard and forgot to leave towels at the pool and fitness room. Limited rooms were also available due to lack of housekeeping service. Then they got slammed with some cancelled flights leaving the few staff that were there to deal with it the best they could. I would not recommend this hotel over a major holiday. I've worked in health care for years so I understand the challenge of holiday staffing. I would suggest that they take turns working the holiday instead of leaving a major department uncovered.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
Thank Happycamper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin2000, Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. I am very concerned to hear of the cleanliness issues you noted. This is most certainly not the norm for our hotel, and I welcome another chance to show we can do better. Please reach out on a future visit, or call / email me to discuss this recent visit. Thank you for your business and have a happy holiday. ben.english@hilton.com

Regards,

Ben English
General Manager
Homewood Suites
Sandston, Va 23150
804-737-1600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 426 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was my 3rd stay at this Homewood Suites and every visit has been exceptional! It's a great location very near the airport and convenient to I-64. The front desk staff are professional and extremely polite - always greet customers when entering / leaving. Brian Hansen and "Tiffany" provided superb customer service!

The rooms I've stayed in are very well apportioned with quality furnishings and nice decor - just a relaxing, inviting feel upon entering with a variety of pillow options on the bed. They've also always been exceptionally clean for each of my visits. Each "suite" has two flat screen TVs (living area and bedroom). Everything worked fine. Good lighting with a variety of lamps and complimentary high-speed WIFI in the rooms. The only odd thing is the bathroom door which didn't open all the way in two of my rooms - the door hits the toilet and requires you to fully close the door behind you in order to use the toilet. Rooms have irons, ironing boards, hair dryer, microwaves and small fridge.

The lobby area is a nice meeting / gathering place - nice chairs and very casual feel. There is a large, big-screen TV in the dining area and although I didn't take advantage of it, there is complimentary food in the evenings w/ a rotating menu and a full breakfast option in the mornings. They also have a small room / business center with computer / printer and some sundry items available at the desk.

There used to be an "Unos" bar/restaurant in the adjacent parking lot but it closed about a month ago and appears to be re-openign as a mexican restaurant making dining close and easy. There are two gas station / mini-marts very close as well with a good variety of snacks and beverages. The hotel has ample parking and a decent indoor pool.

If you're looking for a comfortable, clean, friendly place to stay at a reasonable price I recommend you giving them a try.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin2000, Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience , We want to thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a Safe Holiday.


Ben English
General Manager
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Sandston Va 23150

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed in a suite with double-bed for 2 nights. Very good location to Richmond airport as it was just a 5 mins drive. Driving to downtown Richmond takes longer, around 30-40 mins. Restuarants are not walkable distance, but there are 2 gas stations outside which can provide basic snacks and amenities.

I liked the pantry kitchen with microwave, cooker hob, dishwasher and a large fridge. Good for preparing light meals or snacks, or even just heating up deliveries. Bed was very comfortable, huge LCD TV. Room size is huge. Wireless access in-room. No bath tub. Big lobby with fireplace. Friendly staff. There is complimentary breakfast, but the selection is rather limited. And there is also an indoor swimming pool for folks who like hitting the water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin2000, Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to you staying with us when in Richmond. . Thanks again.


Brian Hanson
Operations Manager
Homewood Suites
Sandston Va 23150

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here one night before we caught a flight the next day out of Richmond Airport. The hotel was clean - the staff was very friendly. This is an older Homewood Suites, but the rooms and lobby were nicely updated. The sofa and chair in the living area was very comfortable and the bed was super! We got one of the "whirlpool" rooms - the whirlpool is in the bedroom area. We enjoyed it after driving and walking during our week's vacation in Virginia. Water pressure in the shower could have been better - a bit weak.
We stayed there on a Friday night, so there was no evening meal served. Breakfast was good with plenty of everything. There is a pub-like restaurant next door that served good food.
This would even be a good "home base" hotel during your visit to Richmond.
Would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Hi bandit,

Thanks so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback on the water pressure. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Thanks!

Heather Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here on business travel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Seems a bit older than some, but overall the same set-up as most in the Homewood brand. Convenient to the airport, highways, plenty of parking, next to Uno's Restaurant, but no restaurant in the building. Breakfast was standard complimentary buffet-grade eggs, potatoes, breads, meats. Cold cereal, yogurt and some fruit available as well. Give the coffee a miss though, tastes like that just-add water brown concentrate. Evenings include a free light meal which varies by day in the lobby area. Main complaint is with the location of the pool/fitness area and access to it, which requires a walk through the lobby/dining area...not so nice in your sweaty/wet duds. There is also an outdoor basketball court beyond it, which I discovered on being kept up late by a few game playing guests. Room was fair sized, not large. Only other gripe was the satin-slick duvet which was either sliding off the end of the bed, its filling sagging out the bottom, or waking you from being under its non-breathable fabric in a ferocious sweat. Overall impression was good, basic, clean place to stay and I would recommend it to those with families in tow, or for any extended stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatnext4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Hi whatnext4us,

Thanks for taking the time to share you experience. We appreciate your nice comments and feedback on the bedding. We hope you will stay with us if you return to the area. Safe travels!

Heather Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

During a recent trip to Myrtle Beach which we drove from Canada, we booked a night at the hotel on our way down in a 1 bedroom suite. The Price was hard to beat and the room/service provided well exceeded what we expected that we stayed here again on our return trip home.

The hotel is near the airport and easy to access from the main highways. There is a bit of a drive from the interstates but just follow the directions to the airport and it is not hard to find the hotel. While you could hear some noise from the airport near by it was still quiet and easy to sleep in the room.

The building, grounds, lobby and room are all very lovely. The staff was friendly and welcoming both times we stayed here and this is a big plus for me when staying at hotels. The Breakfast area offers plenty of seating and has a nice selection of hot and cold choices so everyone should be able to find something to have in the morning.

The 1 bedroom unit seemed to be a standard layout for Homewood Suites, a kitchen area and breakfast nook inside the door with a living area that had a pull out couch and TV plus work desk. Then a seperate sleeping area with double doors to allow privacy from the living room with a sink area off the bedroom open to the bedroom. The door to the bathroom was off the bedroom and offered the basics of flush and shower/tub.

The beds are very very comfortable and provide an excellent night sleep. The TV's in both the bedroom and livingroom allow you the choice of watching TV at night on the couch or in bed while falling asleep.

There is a Uno Chicago Grill off the parking lot by the front door which is great so you don't have to drive somewhere to find a good place to eat which is nice if you've been traveling all day.

The staff and rooms would ensure this place is top choice next time I need a place while driving to South Carolina for our next golf trip. Maybe next time I'll try to schedule an extra night at this place so I can sample to local golfing the area may offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pweb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Pweb44,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Homewood Suites to your liking. We look forward to servicing your travel needs should you return to the Richmond area.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is an older Homewood suite but completely adequate, not luxurious. Stayed here for almost a month in process of relocation for education. The staff was helpful and the location, price, and accommodations worked out well. We would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Homewood Suites Richmond. We greatly appreciate your comments. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels!

Heather Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5996 Audubon Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
#3 Business Hotel in Sandston
#3 Family Hotel in Sandston
Price Range: $150 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Homewood Suites Sandston
Homewood Sandston
Richmond Airport Homewood Suites
Sandston Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing