We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm a road warrior for business and usually have no problem with Microtels until this one. This one was very run down and dirty. Not sure what rooms the other reviewers had, but mine had torn bed sheets, torn carpet, and a black substance around the shower walls. I used a damp cloth to wipe away dirt and grime around the desk and sink. The front desk staff seemed nice and offered me another room, but, in my experience, if the front desk area looks run down and dirty, then the whole hotel is that way. So, I didn't bother with another room for my one night stay. I also don't like seeing the front desk staff wearing jeans and sweatshirts - unprofessional and unkempt, like the hotel. The breakfast is only half of what other Microtels have and the fruit looked moldy. And, again, no coffee makers. What's up with no coffee makers in the room? Been to better for the same price. Will not go back to this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoobynoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 545 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Dierdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed there for race weekend. The staff was very pleasant. Room was very small but hay all you wanna do is sleep. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but for $53 what do you think you're going to get. No coffee microwave or fridge in the room. Had a problem with the plumbing but staff came right up and fixed it. Room was clean and everything worked. I needed an extra hour to check out and desk had no problem. I will have no problem staying there next year for the Richmond NASCAR race.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for race weekend for the April races at RIR. I wanted something cheap but clean and less than 30 min from the track. The reviews seemed good so I booked it. Its very easy to get to. Theres a Wawa across the street and a dead gas station next door. The planes go right over the hotel, but arent as loud as you'd think and the last plane is usually in by 12:45am. I checked in around 11:45 and had to use the glass window which I hate. She wasnt that friendly either at check in. I always feel like im treated like im going to rob the place when I check in late. Anyways, the room is VERY small. Easily one of the smallest rooms ive ever stayed in. It has a flat screen TV, it gets HD channels, but many of the channels dont work. They were distorted or frozen up. Bathroom is decently sized but the shower curtain wasnt correct for the shower curtain rod. The rod is curved, and it doesnt encompass the entire length of the shower, so water gets out of the shower onto the floor. The walls are paper thin. Id wake up every morning to the sound of people closing doors and talking. I heard housekeeping every morning even though they were 4 or 5 doors down. This hotel has never seen a remodel. The only thing that seemed newer was the sheets. Pillows were semi lumpy, bed was a bit soft. The hotels wifi was very fast. One of the best hotel wifis ive used. Housekeeping cleaned rooms VERY early, By 10am, i had a note on my door saying housekeeping skipped my room because of the do not disturb sign. I think by Saturday they realized it was too early, as they came back in the early afternoon to clean my room. At checkout, I saw the sign about the safe and its $1 a day charge. Since they didnt let me in to the lobby, I didnt see that sign. I asked to have it removed and the guy made a big deal of it, but it got removed. It should be an OPTION at check in, not an automatic charge. Overall, it was cheap and clean, but Id probably choose another hotel the next time im in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaysofThundr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I don't understand alot of the reviews. My only complaint is the the shower. It takes an enigineer to operate it. Other then that it is a clean safe place to stay. The people that work the counter go out of their way to help. The rates they are more then reasonable. I stay there twice a year when Richmond races come around and it us the bomb. If you want more then go and spend twice as much somplace else. If you want cheaper go to Motel 6. That Motel 6 around the corner is the worst place you coulds ever spend a night. It is a true FLEA BAG Motel. Microtel you are great.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButchW694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tywanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Richmond Airport Hotel
Richmond Airport Hotel
#8 of 15 in Sandston
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Richmond Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport

Address: 6000 Audubon Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: $54 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Microtel Inn And Suites Richmond Airport
Microtel Sandston
Microtel Richmond Airport
Sandston Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing