We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Richmond Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
charlotte
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very close to the airport. Very clean and the room service prices are very reasonable. Staff is excellent and on point at every turn.The room is very spacious and I like having nfl channel. My new airport stop hotel!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank followmylead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
The housekeeping staff were thrilled to hear about this review. They love hearing that their hard work and dedication, to making each room special, made your stay enjoyable. We hope that you stop through again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
19
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
527 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel inasmuch as we were attending a New year's Eve party in the hotel.
The hotel was easy to find - right off Interstate 64 Airport exit.
The entrance was very nice with a small "roundabout" to keep traffic from snarling.
The lobby is spacious and pleasant, if a little stark.
Reception was friendly and check in smooth an flawless.
The room was quite nice - spacious and well appointed.
Bed were comfortable and the bath very well equipped.
The catering staff did a great job with the party - a combo wedding reception]New year's Eve party. My only complaint was that the meat station attendant sliced the roast beef too thick and eating it without a knife was a bit of a challenge. Other than that, the food was excellent (the beef tasted great!) and all buffet stations were kept fresh, clean and well stocked.
A great party and a great stay!
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor (six) and enjoyed the view and relative quiet. The airport is to the nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We absolutely enjoyed reading this review of our hotel. Our banquet team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests with every opportunity that is presented to them. Thank you for the words of encouragement and praise. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days and found it very well kept. Service was good. Food was average in the restaurant. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Lots of hotels on the same street but I recommend this 1 if you had a choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mj2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Any guest feedback is extremely important as we improve from day to day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. We hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Right by the airport, easy to find, rooms quiet - even quieter in the front of the hotel. Richmond easy and quick to get to (10-15-minutes). Wawa next door to hotel for most emergency needs, and gas station to fill the rental car up with before returning to the airport. Airport 4-mins away with easy car drop off and 30-minute cut off for checking in (most are 45-minutes). Hotel staff a delight and very helpful, with bar and restaurant on site – bar staff excellent – rooms clean and comfortable with all usual stuff line ironing board, coffee maker, etc. WiFi free with a good signal in whole of the hotel not just lobby area.

Room Tip: All rooms good but front of building would be your quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicktet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. Looking forward to serving you again, whether it be on your next business trip or just for leisure. We love encouraging reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I had a one night stop over and chose the hotel for its convenience to RIC (airport). I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn in over a decade and despite the new build I was skeptical about the Holiday Inn brand standard until I arrived. The property is nicely appointed. My room was very clean. Check in and out were efficient, but the front desk staff was not overly friendly. We ate in the lounge restaurant and found the bar fare we ordered to be pretty good and very reasonable compared to normal hotel restaurant food (granted we were munching on burgers and chicken sandwhiches). Paula the server/bartender was friendly and efficient. My only two quibbles were a sign in room said toothpaste was complimentary if you forgot it and the front desk staff only offered small $5 tubes of toothpaste upmarked. I expected to be charged, but clearly the property deviated from what Holiday Inn advertises on its signage in the bathrooms. The second was a 3:30 am fire alarm. I realize the property likely had no control and it was likely a drunk guest who pulled the alarm, but the front desk staff member had to be asked what was going on and didn't apologize for the incident.

I did like that the property had a restaurant because there isn't much in this area of town. If you have plans elsewhere in Richmond this isn't as big of a plus, but if you are at the hotel to stay near the airport then this was a big plus over nearby Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express.

I would stay here again if I needed the convenience to the airport. If I had business closer to downtown I would seek properties closer in.

Front Desk Staff: 3
Restaurant Staff: 4
Restaurant: 4

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the thought out review! We love reviews that point us in the areas that we can improve. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I attended a one-day conference at the Holiday Inn Richmond-Airport and was very disappointed all around. Water was made available in the conference room all day, 9am - 4pm. There was no coffee available to conference attendees at any time. At 10am I asked the front desk whether they had coffee available and was directed to go inquire at the hotel's restaurant to "see if they still had a coffee cart available from breakfast." The person working in the restaurant simply said "no" when I asked whether they had any coffee or coffee pots available, and she suggested that I drive up the street to the gas station for coffee! A phone call to the main Holiday Inn phone number resulted in speaking with an agent who told me coffee service is the responsibility of whoever is sponsoring the conference and that I should contact them. And complaint posted on the Holiday Inn Facebook page resulted in a form letter email response with an insincere apology that I was "inconvenienced by the restaurant's hours of operation." I have been a guest and conference attendee at lower tier hotel chains and have never encountered a facility that did not make coffee available to guests - whether free or for purchase - at 10am! The fact that the best they could do was direct me to drive to the gas station at the end of the street is absurd. In the future I will be sure not waste my own or my company's money at a Holiday Inn. They are doing nothing at the local or corporate level to accommodate even the most basic requests - absurd!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 10 days in September this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at their hotel. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist us with our holiday. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant options were excellent especially their breakfast omlettes and suggestions with samplers from the chef were thoroughly appreciated, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if in the area again we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher A, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We strive everyday to learn what makes every guests stay special and we are pleased to know that we could accomplish that. Your review is very much appreciated and we would welcome a return from you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Richmond Airport Hotel
Richmond Airport Hotel
#7 of 15 in Sandston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
Address: 445 International Center Drive, Sandston, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Richmond Airport Hotel conveniently located only a mile from the Richmond International Airport (RIC), the Holiday Inn of Sandston, VA is a new hotel close to Richmond's finest attractions and businesses. Our Sandston hotel's central location provides easy access to great Richmond attractions, from racing at the Richmond International Raceway and Colonial Downs to events at the Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum and VCU's Siegel Center. You can explore history and fine living at Mankin Mansion, the New Kent Winery and the waterfront district of Rocketts Landing, or take the family for a day of fun and education at the Virginia Aviation Museum. Business travelers appreciate our Richmond hotel's proximity to businesses such as Dominion Resources, Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Philip Morris Research Center, Qimonda, Smurfit-Stone and Thomas & Betts. You can utilize our business center, five meeting rooms and free Internet access to meet your business needs. This new hotel near the Richmond International Airport offers more than Richmond motels, as we feature an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center for use during your stay. You can satisfy your hunger without breaking your budget at the 1607 Bistro & Bar, our lounge and restaurant where kids can eat for free. Book with us today to reserve your Sandston, VA hotel room near Richmond's culture, history and all the area has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond-Airport Hotel Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing