We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel has been updated. Some reviews gave it poor marks due to outdated rooms, but my room had two flat screen televisions, granite countertop in bathroom, etc... Hotel has been updated. The breakfast was very good and had options that would satisfy every possible appetite. Nice shopping and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Chris K - thank you so much for the excellent review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for noting the upgrades we have made to our property. Your input is extremely valuable to us. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    120
    95
    92
    47
See reviews for
113
74
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I left this hotel after my one nights stay itching. I got in late and only wanted to sleep before my early morning trip. The hotel is under renovation and clearly needed. It is in desperate need of updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Teon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Teon W - Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are truly sorry that your experience was not completely satisfactory. If you could please email me the details of your stay, I would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns. Thank you.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandston hotels

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just got back from a trip to the East Coast and, having flown into the Richmond, VA Airport, we decided to book a room at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport. Though we arrived extremely late at night, we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff. Upon checking in, we were given some absolutely delicious and tantalizingly warm cookies as a nice welcome to the hotel. (Our girls raved about the cookies!) The rooms were comfortable, but, unfortunately, we found a few crumbs around indicating the cleaning staff had cut a few corners preparing the room for our crew. Other than that, the hotel was adequate for our needs and we were happy for a place to rest our heads in a convenient location -- just a few blocks away from the Richmond Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Susan W. Thank you so much for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the kind compliments about our staff and those delicious cookies! We are looking into the issue that you mentioned and will take corrective action. Thank you again and we hope you will return.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have done reviews for tripadvior from 15 or so different cities over a period of five years or so. I point this out to lend credibility to the fact that I am a real traveler writing a real review. I stayed here in late July 2013. The room was more than clean and every excellent brand standard was upheld. The furnishings were modern and the bedding pristine. I had read some previous reviews on this hotel and was frankly curious to see if some of them were bogus. So when I arrived I looked around for any criticisms and could find none whatsoever. The only item that might be considered a minor shortfall if that the bathtub and caulking around the tub is somewhat older. The hotel is not brand new, but by no means is it lacking in any cleanliness or crispness. Honestly, I sometimes wonder how staff can muster the strength to go to work at these hotels, sometimes. It seems I see some of the worst complainers on this website and I wonder how employees keep from being discouraged and being so darned nice and helpful every time I walk up to their front desks. I had just arrived from a 15-hour drive up the interstate and felt so welcomed and coddled. The staff did a knockout job of erasing a long battle with endless traffic. It just doesn't get any better than this, folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Iaud - thank you so much for the fantastic review! We truly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that your stay with us was excellent. We hope to see you again!

Thank you!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is being renovated. The hotel is a little outdated and needs the face lift. They have nice big suites with a living room and a bedroom. This hotel is very quiet considering it is next to the airport. The drive to the airport is about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jacburn - thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you found our location (the closest to RIC and not in the air path) convenient. We hope to see you again soon.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is by far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are outdated and very disgustingly unclean. I felt like I needed a bath from the moment I stepped in my room however the shower drainage was slow so when I did take a shower I found myself standing in a puddle of dirty water..ICK! I asked to change my room and the next room was just as dirty. Seriously this was the worst experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Betty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Betty I - because you are an employee at one of our competing hotels and stayed here through the employee travel program, we have contacted the General Manager at your property and she has assured us that she will have your review removed as it is not considered valid. Thank you.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. The staff are super nice and professional. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Less than 3 miles from the airport. There is a managers reception for club members. The bar and dining area are very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balucanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Balucanb - thank you so much for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing