We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do Not Stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Being a Doubletree one would expect the hotel to be updated and clean. This one is so far from updated and clean that I cannot describe it properly. Highly recommend you look elsewhere. We stayed on a Friday night and at check in we were asked to sign a waiver that said we understood that there was a band playing that night and we would hear it in our rooms. Sure would have been nice to know that beforehand as we would have made other arrangements being that we were traveling with small children. This hotel is a complete disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member - thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your stay. We will address the issue you have outlined and hope that if you are back in the area, you will give us another try.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    120
    95
    92
    47
See reviews for
113
74
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly, hotel clean and modest. I would recommend staying here. We stayed at this location overnight as a family trip. We arrived late from a day at a theme park nearby. The gentleman working at the desk recommended a pizza delivery service that would deliver food until 2am. Although we had already picked up something to eat prior to arriving, that was a very nice gesture and was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mysti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mysti N - thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us and thank you for the wonderful compliments. We hope that when your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area, you will stay with us again!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This wast he host hotel for our family reunion and we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was great and the accommodations were good too. The food was great at our reception on Friday night and they pretty much let us have the run of the lobby. Our reception changed from 50 ppl to over 100 ppl and they were able to accommodate us quite well. The band that played Friday night was a hit and our party ended up in the restaurant. We will definitely consider this hotel for our future reunions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Pamela L - thank you so much for the review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that your reunion was a success and that you enjoyed the live music Friday evening. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoy this hotel and it's closeness to the airport. We enjoy the wireless internet, the outdoor pool (during summer), and the fitness center. We don't always eat at the hotel restaurant, but when we did, the food was very good. We also appreciate their "park and fly" service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Steve S, Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoy the amenities that we offer and hope to see you again soon!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the hotels that I try and stay with. It is always friendly, I like the comp. beer/wine and breakfast included with my room. It is close to the city if I feel like driving in town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Robert R. - thank you writing a review of your recent stay with us and for being a Hilton Hhonors member. We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times using their park and fly program leaving our car at their facility. It works very well. The rooms are all suites - either 1 bedroom with a door that closes between the bedroom and the living room or nice rooms that are probably technically not suites because they don't have a door but are really two rooms with a nice opening between the two rooms. The bathroom is just off the gap between the two rooms. We actually prefer the room without the door.

Breakfast is good and the staff is excellent - always ready with a warm chocolate chip cookie - often offering them every time you walk by the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Judatt - thank you so much for completing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your kind compliments and are so pleased that you enjoy the cookies! We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night to make an early morning flight over the weekend. After reading some reviews here, I was able to book a 5,000 point room thru Hilton's website. I suppose they're making this point level available because they are doing some renovations, but we had no problems with our room. The room had a front "living room-type" area with a sofa, desk and TV that led to the closet & bathroom. Furthest from the door was the king-size bed with another TV in on the dresser. Room also had a coffee-maker and small cube sized refrigerator.

The room was comfortable but was a bit dated. The bathroom has some basic fluorescent lighting over the sink but is a little dark when taking a shower.

The only odd/inconvenient thing about this stay was the party/jam session going on in the hotel lounge when we checked in. Apparently this is a regular Friday night event, so well attended that parking was a challenge when we arrived although we did find a spot. The music is deafeningly loud, we could hear it as we approached the closed sets of double doors leading to the lobby. The employee at the check-in desk almost seemed embarrassed when I shouted (no exaggeration) to ask if this was a regular event. I had to hand him the printed out copy of our confirmation so he could read my name & confirmation number as it was easier than shouting. Unfortunately we had to repeat ourselves a few times to ask & answer the basic questions when checking in. They actually have a pre-printed slip for guests to sign stating that they've been made aware of the music which will last until 11pm. Our room was several floors up and well away from the lobby so it didn't affect our stay at all. But it does leave a pretty bad impression that Doubletree allows this to regularly occur affecting their paying guests ability to check-in and communicate with the front desk.

I would definitely stay here again as it was directly across the parking areas from the airport and very convenient! They do have rates that include parking at the hotel while you are out of town but since we used points we just drove over to the airport and parked there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyMousePhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear MickeyMousePhan - thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are so pleased that you found our location to be a good fit for your needs and will address the noise concerns that you mentioned. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing