We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good location however property is very old and needs renovating. This was not generally what I would expect from a Doubletree hotel but it did serve its purpose. The carpet was old and the bathroom had drywall blistering above the shower. It did have a nice flat-panel TV and the HVAC system worked well. Check in was quick and efficient as was the checkout process.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Marcus C: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your input and are addressing the issues you have outlined. We hope that if your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area, you will stay with us.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 488 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

WOW...if you stay here on a Friday or Saturday, they will actually make you sign a waiver that they have told you about the noise. The band in the lobby is so loud it is almost impossible to check in. Fortunately there is enough separation from the lobby to the rooms we stayed in (on two different nights in the last week) so it is not too bad. Except for the night that after the music ended, there wound up being a large group of partiers next door in the room that has a connecting door.

This is a Doubletree?

Good thing - I called the front desk asking about the party next door, and seriously within 5 minutes the noise was gone. Great job by the guy at the front desk.

Sunday morning - the breakfast buffet was so delightful - it was like a different place.

But do not come on a Friday or Saturday and expect a traditionally classy Doubletree hotel. EEK!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Robintexas - thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. We truly appreciate your input and value your opinion. We have taken note of your suggestions and comments and they will be discussed with our management team. Thank you again and we hope that if your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond International Airport area, you will choose us!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent just one night in the hotel. Hotel locates close to Richmond international airport and the hotel provides shuttle bus service. Room is spacious and bed is also comfortable. Food is good at breakfast with lots of selection. Overall service is good. Nothing to complain for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodmiumiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Goodmiumiu - thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that when your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will stay with us!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times when traveling to and from the Richmond area and still amazed at the level of service and the convenience of the accommodations. If you have any need to travel through Richmond Airport or are staying in the area I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is courteous beyond belief and extremely helpful. This just sets the tone for the whole place. Many rooms are actually mini suites and are very clean. I have read some of the updating comments but have no idea what that means. The decor is not shoddy in any way. That may just relate to someones personal taste. And you could almost throw a rock to the airport its that close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Edward D. - thank you so much for your wonderful review of the hotel. Your input is truly valued and we hope to see you again soon!

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is underrated. Reviews rated this hotel as poor, rooms were poorly lit, and beneath Doubletree standards. Our experience was very positie..........and we are both experienced, savvy travelers accustomed to staying at nice hotels. While the design and decor was not modern the hotel was being modernized. There were plenty of lamps, a comfortable bed, nice pillows, 2 TV's(including a new flat screen), and the room was quiet (the shower stall was under lit), but the shower curtain was a very nice cloth, the tub was spacious, and the water was warm.

The hotel bar was very nice, and the house band (R&B and blues) was exceptional, truly exceptional!! I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear GH - thank you for your review and for the kind comments about our hotel and the lounge entertainment. We truly value your input and hope that when your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will stay with us again.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel needs updating desperately. It was clean however. The front desk fellow was very kind and welcoming. So when they do get around to an update, it should be a desired destination, considering it's location right across from the airport. Room was quiet, except for some noisy guests in the hall. Parking lot was well lit. New furniture, carpeting, paint and draperies will go along way to making this a lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear KimberlyB. - thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate and value your input. Thank you also for the compliments to our staff. We are addressing the issues you have outlined in your review and hope to see again when your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel by choice, our flight had mechanical problems and the airline put us up here. However, we typically stay at Hilton brand hotels so we were pleased when we learned we would be staying at a DoubleTree. Staff at check-in were friendly and welcoming. When we got to our room were we surprised to see the condition of the room. Stains on floor, carpet, ceiling, etc. Our bed sheets had stains, the mattress was not comfortable and old. The TV was terrible with a faded discolored picture. The accommodations need some serious TLC. Having said that, the restaurant on site was pretty good and the bartender clearly loved his job and provided great service. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel until it is updated, especially if you have come to expect a certain level of quality from DoubleTree.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2011Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Travel2011-thank you for taking the time to complete a review and thank you for the kind words about our team members. We are currently addressing the issues you have outlined and hope that when your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will give us another try.

Stacy P.
stacy@doubletreerichmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: $69 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closet hotel to the Richmond International Airport. Complimentary shuttle within a three mile radius. On site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing