We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is not up to doubletree standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel is not up to doubletree standards”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with my stay here. The heater was broken in the only room available so I had to find another hotel. The hotel suggested I go down the street, but the place they suggested was not equivalent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hchedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Hchedrick - Thank you so much for your review. I do apologize for the inability to place you in another guestroom on the evening of your stay. I hope that if your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will give us another try. Please contact me at stacy@doubletreerichmond.com if you have any additional comments or if you decide to stay with us in the future. Thank you.

Stacy P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    123
    98
    96
    52
See reviews for
118
79
49
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

It is very conveniently located at the airport but that is where the good stuff ends. This hotel does not stay with Hilton standards. Everything is outdated and tired. The breakfast is excellent but that was the best part of our stay. There are even old fuzzy TV's in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ron D. Thank you for your review. We are currently addressing the issues you mentioned in your review and hope that in the future, you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandston hotels

Rice VA
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've been to this hotel several times for conferences but have never stayed overnight. This time I did. It was clean and convenient yet nothing out of the ordinary. As other reviewers have pointed out, it needs an upgrade. The bathroom was clean but needed to be overhauled - the grout looked stained and shabby. Beds were comfortable, heat/ac was easily adjusted and not too noisy. What was excellent about this place was the front desk people. Sierra was very helpful and accommodating and then the next day there were two young men who were pleasant and efficient. This hotel used to be one of the few in the area. If they want to compete, there needs to be some serious remodeling and a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting a review and for the kind comments regarding our staff. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel is old and showing its age. The hotel layout and room configuration is old and out dated. This hotel is not up to the Hilton Double Tree standard, it definately needs renovation. I choose this hotel for its location (which is fantastic in relation to the Richmond airport) but was disappointed with the overall quality. Next time I will be staying at the new Hilton Garden inn a half mile down the street, the longer distance from the hotel (not much really) is more then made up with in a much higher quality facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Michael K. Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are currently addressing the issues you have outlined in your review and hope that if your trvel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed one night after visiting my mom in Williamsburg. Proximity to airport was a plus with a 6am flight. However the hotel is tired and worn...musty smell in rooms...and not worth the price paid. Selected based on brand and location...not even close to what I expected for a Double Tree. Many areas of disappointment and I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms tired and worn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Cecilia B. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We truly value your input and are currently addressing the issues you have outlined. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here overnight after a long day out. It was clean and comfortable, but the facility by and large is tired and in dire need of renovation. Lots of little things to find fault with. One of the automatic doors in the lobby screeches horribly. The elevators are slow. The carpeting looks like it's straight out of the early 90s, which was good for a chuckle. The in-room coffee maker didn't work. The room TVs are old. All in all, it looked pretty rough, but I got a great night's sleep and a great breakfast. The staff I dealt with were kind, attentive and definitely made an effort.

Room Tip: Low-numbered rooms are closest to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoVA_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel and for the compliments about our staff. We are addressing the issues that you have outlined and hope that if your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, that you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was here one night for business. The staff at the front desk was nice. The room was pretty clean and quiet. I had a special rate so I think it was a good value. The building shows some age, but overall it's a nice place and I slept well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Rebecca B. We hope that if your travel needs bring you back to the Richmond Airport area, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Airport Hotel

Property: Richmond Airport Hotel
Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing