We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Airport Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Orlando
Level Contributor
296 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Airport Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent for the airport. Safe location within an area of several hotels. Literally minutes from the airport and good highway access. Room was clean and bed comfortable. A better than average HI Express version. Breakfast is the normal for this brand hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express- Richmond Airport during your stay here, and we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit!

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    28
    9
    14
See reviews for
34
23
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Clean room, refrigerator microwave in the room. Comfortable bed, plenty of towels. The usual breakfast but they do make some of the items available before the official opening time, which is nice for those with early flights. Friendly check in staff. Room was quiet and airplane noise not bad, although we arrived pretty late when the airport was quiet. Windows do not open.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel such a wonderful review! We're glad you were able to have a quick breakfast early in the morning before your flight. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Richmond, VA :)

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
338 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels at least six times per month. This hotel is among the top examples of the chain. Clean rooms and great service. The breakfast area attendant is very efficient and makes sure everything is fully stocked. To my surprise breakfast was available a 5:15 AM. Close to the airport with a free shuttle. I recommend this hotel and will stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate all the kind words you have for us, and look forward to seeing you again throughout this year. Have a great week ahead!

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a one day stay recently and I can report the hotel is a very good example of HIE. Breakfast is the usual but they do open very early for cold breakfast items--4 a.m. --helpful if you have an early flight out of RIC. Amber checked us in and did a fine job. This one has a nice looking small indoor pool. If you are looking for places to eat--travel down I-64 one exit west (towards Richmond) and head to the left--there is a large shopping plaza with a bunch of low to mid range restuarants. You can also get there by the frontage road that you turn off to enter the side road to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request away from the elevator and vending/ice areas. It was quiet for or stay but the hotel was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for all of your kind words, and we're glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Being able to provide an early morning breakfast is one of the perks our guests are very fond of. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I crashed with two friends for one night en route to Myrtle Beach. We got a great rate on hotwire for a two-queen room. Easy to find off the interstate. We arrived past midnight and was able to quickly get to our room to sleep for the night. Room insulation good and was very quiet. Bathroom was standard and clean, although the toilet flushed weakly. we spotted a pool and small fitness room but did not use. The next morning, we made it down to breakfast and was impressed by the spread. Self serve hot options included bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, as well as an on-demand pancake maker. Fruit, yogurt, and cereals also available. Overall, this was a good value. Saw a few flight crew members checking out upon leaving.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback!! We're glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast in the morning, and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Sandston, VA!!

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We needed a room after arriving in Richmond at the end of our 18 hour travel day from Europe. The hotel is near the airport and has a free shuttle. We knew we would arrive very late so we called the hotel a few days ahead and learned the shuttle procedure. When we arrived, we simply called the hotel and ten minutes later the shuttle arrived. Our check in went fast and we were given a gift bag due to our status with IHG. The room was just what we needed after a long day traveling; soft bed, quiet, and clean. Breakfast was standard self serve but was hot and plentiful; no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnurseUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a survey and giving us some great feedback! We hope that you had a great time on your trip to Europe, and we're glad that we were able to accommodate you with a timely shuttle service and a quiet night of rest. We'll see you again on your next travel dates!

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed there for a couple of days for a business trip. Overall the hotel is good, but not as nice as other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at. The lobby is nice, and the breakfast is pretty good. The location is nice by the airport, but the room shook from the flights coming and going. Probably the biggest fault I have with it was the bathroom looked a little run down. There were cracks in the tile grout and seemed like it could use some updating.

It's a pretty good hotel and is cheaper than the other hotels in its class in the area, but with the other choices in the area I'm going to try some other places before I go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoser_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Our location is very close to the Richmond International Airport, which is perfect for guests taking early flights from Richmond, VA. Your comments about updating the bathrooms are being worked on by our management company as we speak, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Badal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Address: 491 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336 (Formerly Wingate Inn - Richmond - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Richmond, VA near Richmond International Airport Come and relax with us at our prime Richmond, Virginia hotel near the Richmond International Airport. Our Richmond hotel is just one mile from the airport and offers easy access to major Richmond attractions and businesses alike. Your family will love staying at our comfortable Richmond hotel. Our hotel near the Richmond International Airport is located on Audubon Drive and offers convenient access to many Richmond attractions. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum, the Virginia State Capitol and the Science Museum of Virginia are within close proximity of our accommodations in Richmond, Virginia. Other nearby sights include the American Civil War Center and the Virginia Holocaust Museum. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient accommodations near the Richmond Airport. Our Richmond, VA hotel offers close proximity to area businesses such as Hewlett-Packard, Southern Graphics, Smurfit-Stone and Qimonda. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as business services with an available computer, fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. While staying in Richmond, you can enjoy our amenities, which include a heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Richmond VA hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Holiday Inn Express Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing