We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Be warned: this hotel is changing identities--becoming a Holiday Inn Express--and renovations are going on. The rooms are ok, newly decorated, with some nice touches, like microwaves and fridges. The bed is nothing to write home about--sheet and coverlet only (no blanket on mine); the AC is a hard-to-control window unit; and the shower is the economical kind, with not much water. The halls, elevator and lobby are grungy from construction.

My biggest complaints are the coffee, which tastes like dishwater (I didn't stay long enough for breakfast) and the shuttle van, which was a bit late and then went to two other hotels. It made me nervous about getting to my 5:40 a.m. flight on time. (That was not a problem: my airline had few passengers; if I'd been on United, however, and had to stand in that long line, I'd have been in trouble.)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Achillea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

The hotel is undergoing a renovation, however it didn't affect us at all. The room smelled of fresh paint. The beds are comfortable, good sheets and pillows. The pillows were medium sized and fluffy, and the comforter was one of those luxurious down filled blankets that make you want to stay in bed. The bathroom was pretty good, clean, although the grout could use a little work. The lady who took care of the breakfast buffet was so nice. The breakfast was okay, typical for any hotel buffet I guess. Other than her and the cleaning staff, the staff was just OK. My mom left my room key at the desk for me and they didn't ask for my ID when I came to pick it up.
The hotel doubles the price for race weekend which is a practice that I loathe. The pool, spa and workout room looked great but I didn't have time to use them. The hotel is right off of the interstate, and the Unos restaurant across the highway is great. Is only about 10 or 15 minutes from MCV and convenient to RIR. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Overall had a good stay, the hotel seemed newer and/or remodeled and the staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. It is very convenient to the Richmond Airport. The only complaint I had is that the room had a very strange hotel smell in it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveldi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We were looking forward to our one-night stay here due to the great reviews. We booked our room through the Wyndham via phone and had our reservation printed out. When we arrived at the Wingate following our flight at 11:45 PM, we were informed there were no rooms and that the reservation had been incorrectly entered for April 18th. Despite our printed reservation, the best the desk clerk could do for us was refer us to the Microtel (he told us everthing else in the area was full). We informed him it did not have good reviews and this arrangement was not acceptable. No apologies or efforts to make amends for our inconvenience were offered and, having no other alternatives at that late hour, we went to the Microtel, which was filthy.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank MilwaukeeFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Wingate, while visiting my daughter in the area. I had never stayed at a Wingate before, but based upon the reviews, and the indoor pool, I decided to give them a try. This will be my one and only experience with Wingate. The room was very large, & roomy, & quiet. Bed was okay as far as comfort goes. Hotel desperately needing mirrors! There was construction going on in the hotel, and I wish I had been notified of such beforehand. The majority of the staff we encountered, really needed some instruction in etiquette, and common courtesy. It appeared several of the desk staff were more interested in personal phone calls, than helping customers. Breakfast offfered was mediocre for the price of the hotel. Same few items offered for breakfast every morning. Pool was very cold, too cold for us to use. spa was luke warm at best. The hotel really could use some major improvements, and attention.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shansmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Our flight was canceled and the airline put us up in this hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is a nice business hotel with friendly staff and nice, newish rooms. The rooms are large with a microwave and refrigerator. There is also free wifi, an indoor pool and spa, and a workout room.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jkbs0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

This is a great business-class hotel near the airport, but without the usual airport noise! The room was large and clean, and the breakfast bar outstanding! The only complaint is regarding the jacuzzi, which was luke-warm at best.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cowlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Address: 491 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336 (Formerly Wingate Inn - Richmond - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: $128 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Richmond, VA near Richmond International Airport Come and relax with us at our prime Richmond, Virginia hotel near the Richmond International Airport. Our Richmond hotel is just one mile from the airport and offers easy access to major Richmond attractions and businesses alike. Your family will love staying at our comfortable Richmond hotel. Our hotel near the Richmond International Airport is located on Audubon Drive and offers convenient access to many Richmond attractions. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum, the Virginia State Capitol and the Science Museum of Virginia are within close proximity of our accommodations in Richmond, Virginia. Other nearby sights include the American Civil War Center and the Virginia Holocaust Museum. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient accommodations near the Richmond Airport. Our Richmond, VA hotel offers close proximity to area businesses such as Hewlett-Packard, Southern Graphics, Smurfit-Stone and Qimonda. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as business services with an available computer, fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. While staying in Richmond, you can enjoy our amenities, which include a heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Richmond VA hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Holiday Inn Express Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing