We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel nothing great. Shuttle issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Overall I had an average stay. Nothing great. The best thing about this hotel is the location. The rooms are ok although my room needed the bathroom updated really bad. Other than that complimentary breakfast and a five minute ride to the airport make it convenient. The price was decent as well. I have to agree about the shuttle. The previous review hit the nail on the head. I waited about 35 minutes for the shuttle when it is only a 5 minute ride. Finally I sprung for the cab to get me there. The shuttle service needs some serious improvement. I would recommend a short stay especially if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for posting your comments about this hotel. We've been working very hard to revamp our guest rooms, and I am happy to say that we have made many improvements. I apologize for any inconvenience our hotel shuttle might have caused, and will continue to work on improve our shuttle service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

If you need a place for a 1 nighter by the airport this is the place - nothing to write home about - you get use to the noise of the planes as you're right by the airport - the room was okbut it was 58 degrees w/the AC blasting when we walked in. The bathroom door and closet door looked liked someone kept smacking into them w/a wheel chair - and rust all over the bathroom door trim. Got 2 bottles of water (from walgreens) and two packages of oreo cookies for being priority member. Only stayed as I got corporate rate and needed a place to stay on the way home from vacation. I would pick another place next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyLover56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

We thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to write this review. We are fortunate for being close to the Richmond International Airport, which makes it convenient for our guests who are flying out early. We apologize for any noise you might have heard from the airplanes above. Hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn express on September 9 and took advantage of the "park and fly" option while we were out of town for a week.

This hotel met our needs. It was clean and very close to the airport.

Our shuttle to the airport was running late, but we got to our gate in plenty of time. The staff was pleasant. We left too early for the full breakfast, but they had some pastries/bread, cereal, juice etc which was nice to grab on our way out the door. There were several shopping and dining options within a few miles of the hotel that we took advantage of before checking in. Upon check in, we were given bottled water and cookies, which was a nice touch.

We did request a wake up call, which we did not receive.

Our car was hit while it was parked for the week, and no note was left... but that isn't really the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreaminofvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you were able to use the Park and Fly package we have created for our guests. It is very important that we provide our early traveling guests some options for breakfast before flying out. I apologize for any inconvenience with the wake up call, and will continue to improve on making sure that doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

First, I should say that our visit was by no means terrible. We found the front desk staff very friendly and welcoming during both check in and checkout. The hotel and hotel grounds were for the most part clean and well-maintained. It also very conveniently located to both Richmond International Airport, as well as interstates 95 & 64. For those, we give this hotel high marks. It was the other things we noticed that we feel made this only an average property. We gather from previous reviews that this hotel was renovated a few years back when it underwent a name change. Unfortunately, if that renovation included the bathroom in our room, then it is aging very quickly. The light fixture and mirror were already rusted and the bathtub and sink looked as if it had been caulked by someone with their eyes closed. The stains around the toilet didn't help the bathroom's appearance either. The 'hot' breakfast items were more like room temperature and the hostess seemed more interested in getting her smoke breaks in than attending to the breakfast area. The floor of pool appeared to be missing some paint and was slimy in others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotzAndFrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you very much for the feedback you have given. It is essential for us to improve our service as well as the condition of our hotel rooms. We have addressed the condition of our bathrooms the past few months, and will continue making improvement in the future. I'm glad your check in and check out with our front desk staff went well, and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Pleased with our stay overall, and thanks to the hotel and staff for waiving the pet fee for competitors in the sportsman's show. We had a problem with our first room, apparently there were cats in it before us as my husband had a reaction worse than he's had in years, but they moved us without hesitation when requested. Nice layout, friendly staff, elevator is loud (room we moved to was right next door), but not so much we couldn't sleep. Would definitely recommend and stay there again next time we are in Richmond.

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for posting your comments about this hotel. Service is very important to us, and we are very glad our staff was able to help accommodate you with a room that would meet your needs. Hope you had a great time at the Sportsman's Show, and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I'm generally not a fan of Holiday Inns , but I have to admit to being pleasantly surprised by this one near Richmond Airport . Difficult to say what age this property is ..outside looks quite recent , but inside a few things hint at it being a good few years old. Room was a fair size with plenty sitting space and a refridgerator and microwave which I didn't expect . Reception and breakfast areas were uncluttered , clean , and attractive with a reasonably good complimentary breakfast . Location was convenient for returning the rental car at the airport ..only five minutes drive away. There is also a small indoor pool which looked o.k. I read an article somewhere that said Holiday Inn had belatedly started to get its act together , and based on my experience of this hotel , I would tend to agree.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calsidewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bipinptl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

I thank you for the comment you have posted about our Holiday Inn Express @ RIC Airport. I am also very excited that you have noticed the changes we are making to deliver personalized service to each guest that stays with the Holiday Inn brand. We welcome your comment and hope you will continue, so we can always be the brand that guest LOVE!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Clean hotel, reasonable price, good breakfast, friendly staff. And it has a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mw14111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bipinptl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

We always love reading comments like yours. My team and I thank you for your posting!!!
We look forward in serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Richmond Airport Hotel
Richmond Airport Hotel
#7 of 15 in Sandston
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Address: 491 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336 (Formerly Wingate Inn - Richmond - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range: $128 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Richmond, VA near Richmond International Airport Come and relax with us at our prime Richmond, Virginia hotel near the Richmond International Airport. Our Richmond hotel is just one mile from the airport and offers easy access to major Richmond attractions and businesses alike. Your family will love staying at our comfortable Richmond hotel. Our hotel near the Richmond International Airport is located on Audubon Drive and offers convenient access to many Richmond attractions. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum, the Virginia State Capitol and the Science Museum of Virginia are within close proximity of our accommodations in Richmond, Virginia. Other nearby sights include the American Civil War Center and the Virginia Holocaust Museum. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient accommodations near the Richmond Airport. Our Richmond, VA hotel offers close proximity to area businesses such as Hewlett-Packard, Southern Graphics, Smurfit-Stone and Qimonda. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as business services with an available computer, fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. While staying in Richmond, you can enjoy our amenities, which include a heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Richmond VA hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Holiday Inn Express Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing