We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”

Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Salem
Restaurant details
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I like the Salem ice cream parlor if for any other reason, because it's hometown comfort. The décor is shabby chic with lots of local flair and an old ice cream shop air. The ice cream itself is good; they use Hershey's, and the unique offerings make it a place worth visiting repeatedly. The regular food items, are quite good as well with a variety of sandwiches that are perfect for a lunch stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good ice cream parlor in SW Virginia”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Like Leighann B, I agree that this icp has an excellent choice of i.c. flavors .... EVEN IF THEY HAVE ELIMINATED old-fashioned chocolate chip flavor. They also offer very few flavors of no-fat flavors ..... chocolate is one of them that they do offer, however. We have lived in the Roanoke valley for 16 years, and have been coming here several times each year. They are getting pricey now. I believe it is now over $3 for a single scoop, although the single scoop is BIG. And a double scoop is still less than $5, I believe. But the place has a great atmosphere, the Hershey's brand ice cream that they serve is very high quality, service is always top notch, so they get a strong review overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gruglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sweet place”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had ice cream and milk shakes but folks there were enjoying burgers and fries. It is an old fashioned kind of restaurant - very family friendly and staff is open and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Codgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Love it! Favorite place for our family.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

They have a great variety of ice cream flavors, sundaes, and shakes. You can get a fresh, delicious combo with sub, soup, drink for a very affordable price plus you can add ice cream! :) Tomato bisque yum!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leighann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem va
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wow, what a great little ice cream stop!!! Tons of choices and great flavors.Well worth your time to stop and visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing