We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Anthony's

Famous Anthony's
Ranked #15 of 101 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I and some friends were in the area recently and rather that eat in the motel lobby we decided to try a local restaurant. The motel desk clerk recommended Famous Anthony's. We were not disappointed. The menu had a large variety and the service was good. Save some room for the LARGE Sticky Buns.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    31
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nothing wrong with the food here but its just average. We go there maybe once or twice a month normally for breakfast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyChronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lowest quality of food ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My advice to anyone is stay away. You'll get higher quality food at a fast food restaurant. The salad was the best part and the only part I ate. They listed BBQ Chicken on the menu, it was probably a four ounce frozen thin piece of chicken breast and overcooked and slapped with a cheap BBQ sauce. I put what I thought was butter on the baked potato, only to find out it was "a buttery spread". Do you know how many chemical are in those buttery spreads? Why not real butter? My dinner partner order "Sirloin steak", I can't even tell you what kind of animal this meat came from. The macaroni and cheese? Tasted like it came form a can, you know those mushy kind of elbows with the watery cheese sauce. The old saying is true, you get what you pay for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Whenever we stop in Salem, we look forward to Henry's Smokehouse. It is now closed and we had to scramble for another place to eat. We settled on Famous Anthony's. The service was good and the food average. I had the steak with onions. It was a little tough but tasty. My wife had some kind of wrap. She liked it.
The food and service were good but average and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast. It was fast, the food was good, the server was super friendly. Restaurant needs a make over in a bad way though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Anthony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing