We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Salem
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We were coming through and had to book last minute. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were neat and clean. Even though it was pouring rain, the view was still great. Town is a quick drive where you can go get a bite to eat. Overall great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    92
    132
    79
    81
See reviews for
171
91
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights while I was in town to take the Virginia Bar Exam. The price was exceptionally cheap, which was the main reason I picked the place. The room was in bad shape - some of the paint was peeling and it had a funny smell. I wasn't terribly bothered by this because I had paid a dirt cheap rate. What did bother me, however, was that the staff seemed indifferent at best and unhelpfully rude at worst. For example, I asked the clerk checking me in to charge the room to a different credit card than the one I had used to make the reservation, but he refused, saying the computer wouldn't allow it. I refuse to believe that there's no way to change that; I'm guessing he just didn't want to do the work.
The hotel is right off I-81, and it seemed like it would be fine for people looking to crash for a night before continuing on in the morning. But it might not be the best place for people who are going to be in town for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had stayed here once before because I was traveling with a dog and they are dog friendly here. Actually, they are friendly. The place has a nostalgic feel to it, and for sure wasn't overly fancy, but the room was clean and had all the necessities including a mini frig. The view is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was supposed to have been recently renovated but there was burn holes in blanket, the toilet didn't flush right and this morning found a bug running around in the bathroom.

My husband and I along with about 15-18 other people came to the dining room around 8:40 for what we thought was going to be a great breakfast and they were out of eggs,sausage, and gravy and when we ask about it was told they were out and couldn't, make anymore. There was no coffee and had to wait for him to make more.

We will not be staying again.

Be ware of false advertisement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not the worst room I've ever stayed in. Cigarette burns all over everything in our "non-smoking" room. Staff was very friendly. Couldn't get a wifi signal for two days. Pool was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing