We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Advertising said newly remodeled. Pealing paint, thread bare carpet in need of thorough cleaning. The sink has what appears to be dried vomit in it. cups have torn and missing sanitary wrapping. If it wasn't so late, I would not have stayed here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The room was clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The in-room refrigerator worked great and had a separate little freezer section that re-froze our ice bags solid. The a/c cooled the room quickly. The beds were very firm and comfortable. Breakfast is included, and the selection was quite varied for a hotel like this. The price was excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa Va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are coming here expecting a "Waldorf Astoria" experience for $50 per night, you obviously don't travel much. This isn't the most luxurious hotel and it is worn and dated. The service however was great, the views were amazing and the pool was fantastic. It was extremely quiet and peaceful. The mattress was comfortable and everything in the room was in working order. The location is very convenient to dining, shopping ect. Everything is within a 10 min drive. All in all I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Don't expect room service, a concierge or a limo for $50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business-Flyer-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This motel is a good choice. You get a free breakfast buffet. It is pet friendly with a minimal charge. Some of the lights didn't work but we worked around that minor problem. The shower could be treacherous for older folks as there is virtually nothing to grab hold of to steady yourself. No major problem with cleanliness; bed was adequately comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0906ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing