We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's $50 per night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Louisa Va
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's $50 per night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are coming here expecting a "Waldorf Astoria" experience for $50 per night, you obviously don't travel much. This isn't the most luxurious hotel and it is worn and dated. The service however was great, the views were amazing and the pool was fantastic. It was extremely quiet and peaceful. The mattress was comfortable and everything in the room was in working order. The location is very convenient to dining, shopping ect. Everything is within a 10 min drive. All in all I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Don't expect room service, a concierge or a limo for $50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business-Flyer-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    72
    101
    68
    70
See reviews for
131
72
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This motel is a good choice. You get a free breakfast buffet. It is pet friendly with a minimal charge. Some of the lights didn't work but we worked around that minor problem. The shower could be treacherous for older folks as there is virtually nothing to grab hold of to steady yourself. No major problem with cleanliness; bed was adequately comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0906ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Quite simply, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Just about everything in the room was broken or falling apart. Obviously the ownership is trying to nurse every penny out of the place. Unfortunately I happen to be there the same time as VA Tech graduation so the room cost me $120 which made me sick when I saw and smelled the room. However there was a really bad storm that night so i couldn't leave. Strangely though, the bed was comfortable. As for the rest of the room:
-Table broken
-Lampshade melted
-Safe broken
-Sink falling off wall
-No chair for desk
-1990's TV
-Mold on ceiling
Phone didn't work

Stayed in room 331 on May 15, 2014

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room wasn't super clean. Sheets and towels had hair on them prior to use. Breakfast was average, large space but nothing special-not allowed to take food back to your room either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing