We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“you're kidding” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“you're kidding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First of all the heat in the room only extended as far as your arm, second really completely renovated rooms with antiquated tv and scrappy doors? Next was FREE BREAKFAST ON A Sunday UNTIL WOW 9 a.m. Definitely not worth $50.00, go to the Quality Hotel, easier to find and looked a lot better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 58sandy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    107
    68
    71
See reviews for
138
73
41
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on a long drive from NJ to TN. I desperately needed sleep. Went to my room, and found there was a large barking dog next door. Went downstairs to ask for a new room, went to new room, and then owner came up and told me I needed to move to a third room because this one was out of service. Passed out for an hour before I was awaken by another barking dog. At this point, I realized just how filthy the room was. Paint was peeling off walls, carpet was held together with duct tape, and Mc.donalds food wrapper were peeking out from underneath bed. I went to the desk to complain, and decided to check out, a mere two hours after I checked into my first of three rooms. I was handed a receipt for 46 dollars, and was told nothing could be done about the charge. My credit card ended up being charged for $53 dollars, and I tried to contact the manager for a week. I finally contacted Howard Johnson corporate, and after a month the manager Naveed called me back. He claimed he went and personally checked the room the next day and found "nothing wrong". He offered me 15% off my next stay, but when will I be in Salem again? If i do, I surely won't be staying here!

Room Tip: Want a tip? Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesbit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Howard Johnsons in Salem Virginia in the afternoon.
Upon check in noticed the TV was Not hooked up for service.
No working telephone. When asking for a wake up call the clerk asked for my cell phone so I can be called. Only two of the four lights in the room were operational.
But the worst is Thr fact that the window heating system can
not provide heat above 60F.
No extra blankets in the room.
Hotel has potential to accommodate overnight guests.
However in it's present state of repair it is Not in position to do so.
Hotels. com and other similar organizations should Not direct guests to this facility until the property is brought up too basic standards .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlivin0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This motel is relatively shabby, rooms are old, paint peeling in bathroom, dingy carpets etc. We stayed in room 128 the night of the cold front and the heater unit did not keep the room very warm at all (however it was 9 degrees outside). $50/night seems relatively normal these days for a lower end place with these kinds of issues. Rooms seemed clean enough and the place has a good location.
The inexcusable event was finding a live bedbug on the bed in the morning. Upon presenting it to the front desk they acted clueless but did work with Orbitz to immediately refund my money. I would be wary of staying here until the hotel issues a statement confirming they've fully exterminated and taken care of the issue. There is no reason a full size adult live bedbug should be hanging out in the daytime like that unless there's a major issue in these rooms. Just crossing my fingers that we haven't picked up hitchhikers for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llcsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing