We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not prepared to meet customers basic expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Howard Johnsons in Salem Virginia in the afternoon.
Upon check in noticed the TV was Not hooked up for service.
No working telephone. When asking for a wake up call the clerk asked for my cell phone so I can be called. Only two of the four lights in the room were operational.
But the worst is Thr fact that the window heating system can
not provide heat above 60F.
No extra blankets in the room.
Hotel has potential to accommodate overnight guests.
However in it's present state of repair it is Not in position to do so.
Hotels. com and other similar organizations should Not direct guests to this facility until the property is brought up too basic standards .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlivin0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This motel is relatively shabby, rooms are old, paint peeling in bathroom, dingy carpets etc. We stayed in room 128 the night of the cold front and the heater unit did not keep the room very warm at all (however it was 9 degrees outside). $50/night seems relatively normal these days for a lower end place with these kinds of issues. Rooms seemed clean enough and the place has a good location.
The inexcusable event was finding a live bedbug on the bed in the morning. Upon presenting it to the front desk they acted clueless but did work with Orbitz to immediately refund my money. I would be wary of staying here until the hotel issues a statement confirming they've fully exterminated and taken care of the issue. There is no reason a full size adult live bedbug should be hanging out in the daytime like that unless there's a major issue in these rooms. Just crossing my fingers that we haven't picked up hitchhikers for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llcsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Old building with great view of Roanoke Valley. Clean and comfortable with small bathroom. Better attention to a lot of small things needed like appearance of grounds and better coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing