We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way home to Georgia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed September 9, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I cannot believe that this is REALLY a Howard Johnson Hotel. Something is very wrong here. Here are my reasons:
1. The telephone in the room had buttons missing and did not work.
2. The desk staff did not know the correct WiFI code
3. There was no room rate list on the back of the front door and no escape route in case of fire.
4 There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom.
5. The towels felt like sand paper they were so old. I used wash cloths to dry off,
6. The breakfast was unappetizing and the coffee was dreadful

From this experience I have learned to NEVER let my husband choose our hotels/motels. The reviews were clear that this place would never meet our needs.

Room Tip: My tip is find a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

didn't have high expectations - just wanted someplace inexpensive to sleep one night. Room was clean but HVAC was not the best; motor noise from in-room fridge was bothersome; toilet flush valve stuck and had to be fixed several times; and finally my idea of a full breakfast is definitely different than theirs. All that said, the price met our need for an inexpensive room for one night and it have a nice view.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is very old likely from the 70's. Although the paint was peeling off in some locations, my room was clean. The breakfast in the morning sucks unless you can live with just cereal, milk and juice. Overall, I did not mind as I was crashing for a night between a long drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamsolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $53 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing