We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Paris - France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a room on the top floor, overlooking the mountains, the view was gorgeous. There is an elevator to the top floor, so if you have heavy luggage, this will not be a problem to get to your room. We had the chance of having great weather when arriving in the afternoon, so we were able to enjoy the pool for a while, and it was really enjoyable. The room itself was large, and clean, even though the furniture seems quite dated. We had a great breakfast in the morning, the breakfast area is large, and there is enough choice for an complimentary breakfast. The only issue we had was the bed. The mattress was certainly old. Whenever my husband or I made a movement, we had the feeling there was this huge earthquake ! So we did not sleep very comfortably. All in all, it is average then.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    107
    69
    71
See reviews for
138
73
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kima720
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Great view,yes. We stayed 4 nights, Hotel was average as far as budget hotels go. However, We noticed I belongings seem to be moved when we came back in the evenings, thought it was just us misplacing things until we noticed an employee entering our room with a hotel key(not house keeping) when he had thought we had left for the day. Immediately I went to the office to complain and let them know he was in our room at that time and how alarming this was for us. Response from management was"So sorry, We tell them not to do that". Response from Owner.."Sorry," that was it.. This was extrememly disturbing to us, What was this man doing in our room when we were gone philfering thru our things or worse????? Immediately we began thinking was he placing cameras in our room? Was he being perverted with our things in our room? A million questions ran thru our heads. This man was very shady peering out when we left almost watching wevery move we made, We were 2 married women traveling alone due to a family illness, so this was very scary for us. I did file a Corporate complaint never have heard anything from Howard Johnson on what if any action was taken if any, no compansation was offered, we left and went to a rest stop to get ready for the day. Very alarming and disturbing pay the extra $ for another hotel and for the sanity of knowing this establishment is not trustworthy.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kima720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

On a business trip - Virginia Tech had a big game that weekend and this was as close as we could get to VTech for the work we were doing there the next day. The chairs in our room were terribly stained - just gross. Everything else appeared "okay". The mattresses have no full mattress cover and we pulled back the sheets to check for bedbugs immediately with no traces found. Linen was clean. We were on the first floor and you can hear EVERYTHING in the room. People walking by, suitcases being pulled in etc. There were also 2 vacuums that were left out in the walkway all night. We did not have breakfast here but it did smell good. The view in the morning from the front side of the motel is great! It made everything else worth it. This hotel will do in a pinch but needs MAJOR updates and renovations!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stopped overnight on the way to NC from eastern PA and was thrilled with the location. Sits at a very high point with spectacular views. Unfortunately, I was not able to see them as I had a dog and was placed in the back of the motel. Not the cleanest place I have stayed with pets and the room did have a strong old pet smell. They did offer free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmags0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I picked this place because of the price, but I will return because of the friendly and professional staff, the outstanding view, and the quality of accomodations. The people at the front desk had my reservation ready before I even told them my name. The continental breakfast was very good. The in-room wi-fi was free and easy to access. You have to intend to go to this inn, because you must drive a short distance up the hillside, away from the city streets. Easy to get to, but not visible if you didn't already know it was there. That may explain the lower-than-average rates. It definitely explains the outstanding view of Salem and the entire valley. Incidentally, the Omelet Restaurant down the hill was really good, too. Give this place a try; your experience will be peaceful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FletcherGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Management was very polite & pleasant. Rooms were spacious & very clean. The view of the Blue Ridge Mountains was great. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with many selections.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vckeiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the view. My family had 3 rooms, one of which was infested with bed bugs. The hotel knew they had the problem and tried to exterminate. When a refund was requested, we were told because we booked through a 3rd party they couldn't do anything. Also, the continental breakfast was HORRENDOUS! If you want a view, but don't mind sleeping with bugs, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing