We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic..a look back in time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Blue Jay Motel

Budget Host Blue Jay Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Host Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nostalgic..a look back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I dont care what you other people on here say about this motel, I thought it was OK. I have stayed in worse for sure. The heater was the ULTIMATE!! You couldnt leave it on 10 minutes before you had to turn it off! Yeah..its old...but my sheets were clean, shower was clean and the pressure would peel your dead skin OFF! I liked it and will stay there again next year...if its still open!

Room Tip: room 109 was what I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
3
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed here en route back from Charlotte when I was overtired and needed a place to stay and the Holiday Inn Express on the way was booked up. Would not stay here again.

Sheets, beds, and bathroom were outdated and needed improvement. There were cigarette burns and for some reason they put me in a smoking room when I asked for non-smoking.

This is a location I would pass on, it could be nice but it would require significant investment. Staff was not particularly friendly. Best thing about the place was the view in the morning, the mountains are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoCaps_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

It took all night to get the motel room warm. The shower was the oldest, dirtiest shower i have ever seen. There was no shampoo or conditioner in the room, and when we asked the motel clerk she did not have any either. Just a old run down motel with horrible accomidations. i wouldnt stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kero68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

the heat /air conditoner took all night to warm the room the matress was probaly from 1950 the sheets andblankets had cigreatte burns in them wall paper was peling and when the room warmed up the bugs came out of hybernation and were crauling on the walls! best to stay away and find another place to sleep!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wfred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I stayed here on a road trip through VA. I was drawn in by the huge neon sign, which was mostly working at that point. The rate I paid was a lot more reasonable than the $90-something quoted here.

The building is probably from the mid-'50s. The rooms are reasonably large and clean, but the furnishings are rather worn. The bathrooms are an awesome pink and blue tile, and were definitely the high point.

The restaurant in the parking lot is no longer affiliated with the motel, but when I visited it was a good Italian place with huge portions.

  • Liked — Wild '50s bathrooms
  • Disliked — Neon sign needed some tubing replaced
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
5.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Blue Jay Motel

Property: Budget Host Blue Jay Motel
Address: 5399 W Main St, Salem, VA 24153-8359
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Host Blue Jay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing