We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still have Great Food”
Review of Szechuan Chinese

Szechuan Chinese
Ranked #19 of 101 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still have Great Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We moved from Salem 8 years ago. Szechuan was always our favorite Chinese Restaurant, We decided to drive to Salem this week and see if it was as good as in the past. We were not disappointed. Food is still great and service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love the buffet”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the lunch buffet here after my coworker told me how good the food was. I was very impressed with the quality of the food. For a Chinese buffet, this was super tasty. I LOVED the pot stickers. The service was great an d everyone was very attentive and friendly. It was about $10 for the buffet and a drink for me, so it wasn't the cheapest lunch around, but it was well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to authentic”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Centrally located, with ample parking close by, an almost-authentic chinese restaurant that serves not only Szechuan-style cooking and a very reasonable price. The buffet ($6.95) is plentiful, but I'd prefer a' la' carte. For the evening, the tables are covered with white tablecloths.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baruch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and Hot”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was good, hot and fresh. Nice portions. We ate here for dinner. I would visit here again. Service was excellent. Our water glass stayed filled.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant frequently 10 years ago. Passing through town I decided to try again. The food continues to be very good the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing and the price is reasonable. The menu has a large variety Chinese dishes and there is a nice mix drink selection and wine selection as well. I would recommend this place for your next meal in Roanoke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Szechuan Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing