We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular and consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mac and Bob's

Mac and Bob's
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in 1980 as a 10 stool pub and has grown into a 330 seat restaurant with outdoor dining, indoor and outdoor bars. Famous for huge, great-tasting calzones. Wide range of menu items including steaks, salads, burgers, seafood, sandwiches, and pasta dishes. Offering 35 craft beers on tap, featuring local Virginia beers.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Popular and consistent”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is our third visit as we often stay in Salem on our travels south.
The restaurant is usually crowded with locals which indicates its popularity.
The food is good and plentiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    145
    59
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Calzones”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We lived in Salem for over 30 years and we ate at MAc and Bob's frequently. We moved away 7 years ago and have on been back seveal times . We ate there Dec .10th and food and service are still excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good Value”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our local "hang-out"...a good value for food and service is attentive. It is not 5-Star dining, but a great place to go for a wide variety of food and drink.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler24153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem,VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A Good little place gone bad.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This used to be a great place to have lunch or dinner with friends,especially after a concert on the Farmers Market or lunch before officiating football on Friday nights.I am afraid the owners have lost their passion for this place.Wait staff are inexperienced,and uninspired.I never go in there anymore that we are not swatting at fruit flies the entire time we are there.It may be time for Joe and Mac to find some passionate management?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LED-SKE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, food less so.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Snappy service and huge portions. However the food (salad and pizza) was fairly bland, we'd have preferred less food and more flavour. Tripadvisor let us down on this occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mac and Bob's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing