We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Mac and Bob's

Mac and Bob's
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1980 as a 10 stool pub and has grown into a 330 seat restaurant with outdoor dining, indoor and outdoor bars. Famous for huge, great-tasting calzones. Wide range of menu items including steaks, salads, burgers, seafood, sandwiches, and pasta dishes. Offering 40 craft beers on tap, featuring local Virginia beers.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is apparently a favorite with the locals. I was by myself and sat at the bar. It was a pretty good atmosphere with several televisions with various games on. Good selection of beers on tap and an enormous and delicious calzone. Get the calzone - best one I've ever had.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KingMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    153
    61
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Late night Grubb - If you need it”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The mac and Bob's in salem was good for late night in salem. I ate after 10:00pm. Staff was friendly and late night bar food was decent without overly priced. Mixed cocktails reasonable in price , and quallity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank c51man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in this Court House College Town”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A good all American Place that is well suited for all. Just simply good food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorr58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“NOTHING SPECIAL”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

After seeing the Tripadvisor #3 (of 30) rating I was looking forward to eating here. We arrived to find a 25 minute wait. Seemed it would be a fine place to eat. Actually it was average at best. The limited number of pasta choices was very limited - just two!

We ended up getting a burger (me) and roast beef/cheese sandwich (my wife). Neither meal was anything to write home about. The burger was barely warm with little flavor. The bun was the best part. My wife found the roast beef sandwich to be disappointing. The fries were the best part - I agree.

Have a hard time understanding how this restaurant got up to third place. Are the others that bad? We're in no rush to return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Calzones and pizza are great. Katie's Salad is very popular. Friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Sonja444_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mac and Bob's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing