We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favorite with great pizzas and calzones”
Review of Frank's Pizza

Frank's Pizza
Ranked #52 of 102 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Salem, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Local favorite with great pizzas and calzones”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been going to Frank's Pizza in Salem for years and have always had great food and good service. Several of the waiters and waitresses know my family and acknowledge us each time we visit. This college town (Roanoke College) has several great places to eat with some neat shops in the small downtown area. My family loves the Hot Wings pizza made with white meat chicken and hot wing sauce. I also like the fact that I can wash this pizza down with a glass of Peroni beer. Not a fancy pizza joint but it does have a nice atmosphere for families and youth teams. I have read some negative reviews about other Frank's Pizza locations in the area and I assure you this restaurant has never let me down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value - "local" feel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here today. We both had one of their lunch specials. My wife had two slices and a drink and I had a house salad, a slice and a drink. The food was very good and the service was also very good. It's a simple downtown pizza place with a "local" feel. Everything seemed clean and well maintained, including the bathrooms (always a good sign). Our bill was under $12 - we couldn't have had fast food for less than that! It's a great spot for lunch in downtown Salem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Franks on Main Street”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is one of the several restaurants in the area that are family owned Franks on Brambleton, Vinton, Salem, Williamson, Botetourt, and downtown Roanoke, and in every one they have the same recipe for delicious pizza, and a great atmosphere, the food is excellent, I had the Chicken Salad Salad, and it was to die for, I make this a stop when I'm around Salem

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imreallypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm not from New York like the previous person, but I eat pizza every week and this is nothing special. It is greasy, it is limp and when the waitress brought my slices they were burned around the edges. There's not much flavor going on here either, at best this place is average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'm from NY I know good pizza”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Granted I haven't had a real NY slice in a few years, that taste is ingrained in my mind. Franks has it. We lived in Vegas, England and now Hampton, VA and found this place through my husbands parents. They live in the area and always order from Franks. We make it a point to go there on every visit sometimes even calling from the highway. The only kerfuffle with the place is the person cutting the pie is geometrically challenged. Often there will be a slice thats really 2 in one and then an itty bitty baby slice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frank's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing