We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Franks on Main Street”
Review of Frank's Pizza

Frank's Pizza
Ranked #49 of 105 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Franks on Main Street”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is one of the several restaurants in the area that are family owned Franks on Brambleton, Vinton, Salem, Williamson, Botetourt, and downtown Roanoke, and in every one they have the same recipe for delicious pizza, and a great atmosphere, the food is excellent, I had the Chicken Salad Salad, and it was to die for, I make this a stop when I'm around Salem

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imreallypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm not from New York like the previous person, but I eat pizza every week and this is nothing special. It is greasy, it is limp and when the waitress brought my slices they were burned around the edges. There's not much flavor going on here either, at best this place is average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'm from NY I know good pizza”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Granted I haven't had a real NY slice in a few years, that taste is ingrained in my mind. Franks has it. We lived in Vegas, England and now Hampton, VA and found this place through my husbands parents. They live in the area and always order from Franks. We make it a point to go there on every visit sometimes even calling from the highway. The only kerfuffle with the place is the person cutting the pie is geometrically challenged. Often there will be a slice thats really 2 in one and then an itty bitty baby slice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Take your own mustard!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've eaten here frequently and they have pretty good food at decent prices. But on our last visit, we ordered steak sandwiches with no lettuce or tomato and with mustard on the side. We were charged .50 EACH for the mustard. We have not been back; there are other good steak sandwiches around and none of the other restaurants charge extra for mustard!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notsogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pizza at a good price”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good pizza with lots of cheese and pepperoni! Pretty good prices, too. It's in downtown Salem and convenient to get to and there is plenty of parking across the street.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing