We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great local spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge

Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1969, Billy's Barn has long been a favorite of locals and travelers alike. We offer friendly service and delicious meals at an affordable price. Our philosophy is to welcome you to our restaurant with a genuine appreciation of your business. Come see old friends, or make new ones!
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you're looking for a nice local spot, this is a great place to try. The family that owns this owned it "back in the day" and just recently brought it back to life.
One unique feature is that there are two distinct sides to Billy's Barn. When you walk in you chose to go to the right, which is the restaurant side (with a small, but full bar) or to the left, which is a full bar side complete with dance floor, stage for bands, DJ booth, and so on.
The food is good, the servers tend to be really nice, and management is spot-on.
This is definitely a place to go see live music. One really great service they offer is a van/shuttle service within a reasonable distance. Very cool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All around amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a whim tonight having recently moved to Salem and let me tell you it was AMAZING. Ashley was our server and she was by far the best server I have ever had. The food was absolutely delicious and you could tell it was made fresh. If you are thinking of stopping here then you definitely need to because you won't be disappointed. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie-Wimbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Little Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Needed to get off I-81, to eat, after driving for 7 hours, saw this place and thought what the heck, getting out of the car, we began speaking to this man, about the restaurant, he didn't boast or anything, he just said if you are hungry and you like great food, you have come to the right place, come to find out he was Billy!!! Our service was great, our portions over the top, decor cozy, and everyone else downright friendly!!! We had nachos as an appetizer, they make their own nachos, we had a delish salad, ribs, it was terrific!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As you can imagine a place called Billy's Barn does not have a exquisite ambiance, but the food is well worth a visit. Recommended by the front desk at the La Quinta nearby we had some excellent pork chops, with apple dressing and pulled pork sandwich. The bowl of chili my husband started out with would have been enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SayJota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would stop again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We checked in at the Holiday Inn after a 14 hour drive. We were tired, hungry, and unfamiliar with the area. There happened to be a delivery man dropping off food to the front desk employees so I asked for the restaurant information. We found ourselves at Billy's Barn...literally a red barn. The decor was outdated, but the service was outstanding (granted it wasn't busy) and the food was delicious. The wings were great and you can't go wrong with a cold Yeungling draught beer! Reasonably priced...would go again and would recommend to anyone traveling through Salem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slocke87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing