We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A First and Lasting Impression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Beckley, West Virginia
2 reviews
“A First and Lasting Impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my first stay at a La Quinta hotel and I really did not know what to expect - only that it had a good reputation. This proved to be the case at this particular location.

I arrived on a holiday for a set amount of time, that become more extended due to business obligations. My experience at the property was positive the entire time.

I think that friendliness and cleanliness were the defining hallmarks here. From the front desk, to the housekeeping and laundry to breakfast area attendant. Everybody was nice! I was always greeted with a smile and constant offers for assistance.

The property was very clean. I was shocked at the number of dogs that other guests had with them during my stay. I am not a dog person and was delighted that there were no smells, etc. associated with the canine neighbors. Even barks were at a minimum and this I associate with owners attending breakfast area.

I enjoyed my daily USA Today newspaper and other materials available for reading. The 24/7 fresh coffee was a real treat which I graciously took advantage of during my visit. For those who like television, the channels were many and HBO was featured.. The bed and linens were comfortable, the water in show a good stream and hot water always available. A small refrigerator and microwave added to the comforts. The breakfast area was complete and available each day. As I've indicated, it was a great stay. The location has both easy access to Interstate 81 and nearby downtown Salem and Roanoke just down the road. Many dining opportunities nearby.

I normally do not complete surveys such as this and I think this is my first Trip Advisor submission. If there were suggestions for the property, it was be a need for additional luggage carts. I think the daily demand exceeded the two that were available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank R3722MMdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    173
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
274
156
67
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the LQ Inn in Roanoke Salem, Virginia on 2 occasions during a recent trip to Virginia in December 2013. We chose this hotel due to the convenient location to the Roanoke Airport. We were very pleased with everything about our stay. We had two rooms and asked for the rooms to be next to one another. This was done. The staff was so helpful. The breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would never hesitate to stay here again. We also needed to change our reservation due to an ice storm moving in. The staff willingly accommodated our need to cancel our reservation for one night at the last minute. Our stay was very pleasant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunner307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first time staying at a LaQuinta and we only stayed there because it was "about half way" home and was dog-friendly (we were traveling with our dog). I would stay there again with or without our pet. It was VERY clean and every single employee we came in contact with was friendly, polite and helpful. When does that EVER happen??? The breakfast was hot and had a nice variety. There was no extra charge for the dog or for the roll-away cot we requested. Unheard of!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We needed a place to stay near the Va Veterans Care Center and La Quintas rates were better than similar hotels in the area.The staff was helpful and we were pleased to have a mini-fridge and microwave as we have special dietary needs .The breakfast area was spacious w fun "Jetson" decor. Our room was clean,not large but all we needed. We could have used a blanket as we had to turn up the heat and prefer a cooler room for sleeping.I'm sure we would have gotten one if we asked. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbooksandblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've been staying at this hotel for the past 3 years as a stop over on our trip down south. The place is clean; serves very good breakfast; accessible to the highway; friendly staff and provides good customer service. I will highly recommend for your next trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Florin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing