We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel to break up the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hotel to break up the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Driving from Philly to tn has generally been done in one night...until now. We decided to take the dog and wanted to break up the drive. La Quinta has no pet fee and was super clean. I was very surprised considering how many dogs were there. It is more expensive than most of the pet friendly hotels I looked at but completely worth it. I was on the second floor and the hotel was packed but you wouldn't know b/c all animals were required to be on good behavior. I actually signed a paper staring that I would keep my 90 lb husky under control. Breakfast the next morning was amazing comfort food! Biscuits n gravy with sausage and a DIY waffle maker. Perfect breakfast on our way to grandmas house. This hotel is right off the freeway, the staff was super friendly and our room was very clean. Also the bed was so soft. If you're debating where to stay, think no more and book your stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEE119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    177
    46
    18
    16
See reviews for
283
163
71
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great hotel located just off the I-81. After 16 hours of driving, got to the hotel late in the evening and were checked in by Matt (Matthew). Two minutes later we were in our room and had everything we wanted or needed, thanks to Matt. Would have been nice to have two (2) Queen beds, but the two (2) Doubles were fine. Certainly not a complaint, just an observation. Room was clean and bathroom was spotless. Great breakfast the next morning. Overall, a solid 4.5 out of 5 for me and my family. This will be our future stopover point heading to Florida. Matthew, thanks for everything.......

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We love this place! The staff is very friendly. Everything is very clean. Our room was great, and the bed comfortable. I liked the fact that there is a laundry facility is on every floor. The breakfast is very good and kept well stocked very nicely.They do allow pets but you would never know it. I definitely will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed i four other LQ facilities, with this LQ being the best to date. Melanie made checking in no problem. The first room's smoking alarm was chirping as i entered it. Melanie quickly moved me to room # 210.

The room's furnishings included two full comfortable beds, with three pillows each & a log roll pillow. Stand between the beds, with lamp-with two electrical outlets-& clock. Floor lamp & chair. Writing deck with swivel chaie on rollers.

Three drawer chest cabinet, with flat screen television, 48 channels. Micro/fridge. Wooden luggage rack, a mirror door to closet, with wooden rack, 6 wooden hangers. Iron & board.

Well furnished sink & bathroom. Shower/tub combo. Sink counter wall to wall, with matching mirror., Plenty of space for toiletries and towels. Towels can be a bit scratchy. Hair dryer. Hot water for shower in 10 seconds. Coffe maker. A safety bar on inside wall of shower. The bathroom has hardwood flooring, while the bedroom has carpet.

Overall room/bathroom very clean. Snce staying late November, needed the heat on. Very simple control panel. This is a three floor facility, with a clean, quiet & smooth operating elevator. A guest will be two sets of automatic sliding doors and one medium size luggage rack on wheels. With two large suitcases, the rack was very helpful. Parking lot is good size. NO TIGHT PARKING, with at least two handicapped spaces.

Breakfast 6:00 to 9:00. Plenty of seating. One large two sided counter, with four stools eack side. ,Five tables, with four chairs each. Also a medium size couch and two lounge chairs. Breakfast is a choice of three dry cereals, three bowl hot plate, for perpared scambled eggs, possibly soup & muffins. One large glass container for muffins, toast & bagals. One waffle maker, low fat yogurt, apple/orange juice & coffee. ,Also a large bowl of babanas. There was a womam consonantly restocking breakfast items and cleaning tables & sweeping the floor.

The nearest earery is Burger King, with a Marathon gas/convenience store attached. Billy's Barn Restaurant is about five minutes away. Billy's is closed Sunday & Monday. On the second floor is the guest laundry. Also ice & vending machines. However duting my stay the ice machine was out of order, but the third floor's machine was in operation.

I would stay again with no hesitation.The factors being, the location (only four minutes from I-81),room's cleanliness, price of night's stay, comfortable bed, & the heplful staff- Melanie quickly changing my room & Matt helping me to locate the nearest Ruby Tuesdays. Matt supplied me withn a map all several restaurants & nearby mall. My only regret wass staying only one night.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

Room Tip: Before unpacking, check the room first. That's how I found the chriping smoke alarm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is one of the best! The staff is friendly and helpful. (with special kudos to the lady at the breakfast bar--sorry we did not get her name) The room and surroundings were clean, comfortable, and inviting. It will be a definite stay on our trips north and south.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbunn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing