We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Of all the La Quinta Inns and Suites my wife and I have stayed in during our travels, this was, by far, the most accommodating Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is NON-smoking throughout. The breakfast is standard Hotel fare...nothing spectacular. In all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 773 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Delray Beach, Florida, USA
11
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff made us and our dogs feel at home. Room was very clean and had no odors from previous pets.
The availability of coffee and tea all day long was very welcome after a long day on the road.,
The lady who set up breakfast was a delight. Unfortunately I didn't get her name.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The check-in process was smooth, and the front desk staff were friendly. However, within an hour of checking in to our room, we found a bed bug. We immediately called the front desk and notified them, and they sent up someone to our room from the desk. The guy that was sent up was way too nonchalant about the situation. He said we could either stay in the room or upgrade to the only room that was available for an additional $30/night. If it had not been a booked up Hokie football weekend, we would have just gone to another hotel. We decided to upgrade to the other room, which thankfully, they decided not to charge us for.

Upon checkout, I was asked if we would like to pay for our stay with "the American Express card on file." I booked the room online and paid in full using a Discover card a month prior to our stay, and I never gave them any credit card when checking in...

Overall, the hotel was average and overpriced. The staff was friendly enough but didn't seem very competent in how to handle certain situations. I cannot give a hotel any more than 2 stars if I find any trace of bed bugs. A live one was enough evidence for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6269, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us in the original room. Rest assured, we had our exterminator come in and checked the "bug" it was NOT A BED BUG she says they are only found in dark places like mattresses, not on the ceiling where it is very bright. Our hotel is exterminated on a routine basis. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target situations that can be avoided in the future. This gives us an opportunity to improve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hazle Township, Pennsylvania, USA
11
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We travel with a lot with our dogs as they compete in dock jumping, so we stay at a lot of different dog friendly hotels. LaQuinta has always had the cleanest rooms and the most updated hotels. We stay at these hotels even if there is one a little closer to the venue we are competing at. We appreciate the free breakfast since it is impossible to eat at a restaurant with the dogs! Most of all, and I can't stress this enough, we appreciate the cleanliness and the fact that we always feel welcome with our dogs. This hotel was no different, everything was modern, the staff was more than friendly, and most of all, everything was clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay here again for this event next year, even though it is about 12 minutes away and there are other pet friendly hotels within walking distance of this event. I'd prefer to drive a little for quality and cleanliness, and to know my dogs are truly welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lexington, Virginia, USA
1
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My father was very I'll and in the hospital...the management went above and beyond to ensure that my needs were meant while I was staying at this hotel..the rooms were clean and the staff made sure I had everything I needed. Great experience while I was going through such a difficult time with my father...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Twin_Engines
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Already reviewed this hotel but since we last stayed there they have updated the rooms and the breakfast room and it is very nice. A great place to stay and the dogs are free, I did not hear any other dogs which is good. There are places to walk the dogs, it is very close to I 81 but not close enough to be bothered with the noise etc. The folks that work at this hotel are very nice which is a big plus. Definitely a place you would want to come back to again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clttravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
169 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $89 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing