We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I had travelled all day and were stopping at this hotel as a midway point to our final destination. The hotel is located less than 1mi from the interstate making it convenient to get in and out of if you are just passing through the area. We didn't check in until 1am, but called earlier to let the front desk know we would have a late check in. The staff was very professional over the phone and held our reservation. Once we arrived the staff was very friendly and processed our check in quickly.
The entire hotel has been updated over the past several years. The rooms are modern and updated and pleasant to the eye. The beds are comfortable and CLEAN!
The morning staff was also exceptionally pleasant and knowledgable. The continental breakfast was what I expected, nothing over the top. However, what was offered was prepared well and maintained at the right temperatures. As soon as something was low the staff member refilled or replaced whatever was missing before anyone needed to ask.
The front desk worker at the time of our check out was extremely helpful, efficient, and courteous. You could tell the staff at this hotel enjoyed their jobs, which is refreshing. We will definitely stay here again if we travel through Salem again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_Coffee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    173
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
273
155
67
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Melonie the Assistant Manager at the La Quinta Inn in Salem, Va. went above and beyond to help me. I needed to switch my reservation from Sept. 26, to Sept. 25 and AARP/Expedia wouldn't let me without charging me another night. She fought with them for 3 days and couldn't get anywhere. Finally on the 24th a "big wig" from Expedia called the hotel on another matter and she told him of my problem. She got him to switch the date without charging me for another night. I was able to get to Tennessee the next day to see my granddaughter perform in the marching band, something I couldn't have done without her help. Upon arrival we were treated wonderfully. I will always stay there on my way to Tn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We selected this property last minute looking for something 1/2 way to our destination. What a pleasant experience. We made certain it was our stop on the way back. Bed was plush and very comfortable. How pleasant to have 2 pillow each and not have to decide who gets the 2nd one for propping up to watch TV. Sometimes it's the little things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Chuck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last night at 9:30 my friend and I checked into our room. It was fine. By 1:30 a.m., however, the folks upstairs were having a grand time--even the building was shaking. By 2:30, my friend and I were on the road again, thinking that we should be driving instead of lying in bed wide awake. (That put us into Washington at rush hour, however; exactly what we had hoped to avoid.) I complained to the front desk as I checked out, and the clerk said she had checked in a family at 1:30. The clerk said that I had paid for my room on Expedia, so it would be difficult to refund anything to me, but she gave me the manager's card. I have a problem with that! I called the number on the La Quinta website specifically for this inn. It seems to me that La Quinta should manage their own reservations on their own website. So, beware of with whom you are making a reservation. --noisy air conditioners, too.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor so that no one will be above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing