We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel , with great canine support” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    169
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
267
149
64
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel. They are very pet friendly. The rooms are very clean and do not have pet odors. We travel between Atlanta and New York and this is the perfect stopping point. We have had stayed here 4 times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel around 9pm it didn't look too shabby. We unloaded our luggage and went to check into our room and we literally had to wait at least 15 minutes for a front desk clerk. Not only that, but she was extremely rude and unfriendly. After finally getting our keys we asked where our room was and the clerk replied with "down the hall". Once again, I'm not sure why this woman was working customer service. When we got to our room it spelled like a dog kennel. We have stayed in pet friendly hotels before but the stench was almost unbearable. After asking for another room the clerk told us they were sold out and went on with her business. At that point, we just wanted to rest and get the night over with. Never have I dealt with hotel attendant as rude as her. Will not be returning...there is a very nice holiday inn right next door that looks 10 times better than what we dealt with.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I3ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I chose this pet friendly hotel because of its proximity to a family event and because of our past positive experiences from stays at other La Quinta Inns. This time we were disappointed. The hotel is older and appears to have been refurbished and, while our room appeared clean, it had a very strong musty odor. The odor plus the fact that the room was dark from having only one small window made the room depressing. It was not a room that we looked forward to returning to. The staff people were very friendly and helpful; the breakfast was so-so. With so many other hotels in the area that offer more for the money, we probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kghperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stay in LaQuintas because of our dog and traveling too/from TX to ME each summer. We experience this chain in various parts of the country and this hotel was without a doubt, the nicest yet. We have no complaints whatsoever and the staff was outstanding. We marked it as one we'll continue to visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank cnewmanMidland_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a Va Tech football weekend. This was our first stay here, the hotel is very nice, clean and well kept. Our room had 2 double beds, a sofa and coffee table, and desk area. It was very spacious and organized. There were nice decorator touches in the room like a decorative clock on the wall which I've never seen in a hotel room before. The vanity and double sinks were right inside the door with the shower and toilet in a separate room directly across. The laminate hardwood floor is a nice touch but near the sink it did have some weird lumps under the panels. The shower/bath room were very clean. Like I mentioned we had 2 beds which were doubles and kind of small but were very comfortable with multiple pillow firmness choices which I like. The breakfast was good. The breakfast area seemed a bit oddly decorated to me. Most LQ's I've been in have been decorated in a Spanish style; whereas, this breakfast area seemed designed for NASCAR fans because it was red and black with metal finishings. Just seemed out of place but was comfortable and easy to access the breakfast bar. Overall, would stay there again when we come up for another game and can't get a hotel closer to Blacksburg. I didn't notice any smell issues other than when a guest with severe BO came out of the elevator and we got in it. Did see pets outside but never heard one or noticed any issues with pets. Staff and management do a great job maintaining a clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing