We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton Roads
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This La Quinta could be a model for all other La Quintas to follow. Loved every aspect of my stay there. Beautiful room, great service! The hotel staff really, really cares about their guests. Hats off to Melanie at the front desk. I felt like I'd known her for years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannieMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    177
    46
    18
    16
See reviews for
283
163
71
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A top quality hotel, from start to finish. rooms nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Modern, clean hotel. I stay in hotels every week and this hotel ranks up with some of the higher dollar chains. 5 stars in this experienced travelers book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Conveniently located just off 81, LaQuinta Salem offers clean, comfortable and spacious rooms at a reasonable price. The recently ungraded lobby and breakfast area is cozy and pleasant. Hotel staff are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast includes make-your-own waffles and plenty of fresh fruit - much nicer than many hotels' continental breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Mara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6269, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Laquinta inn for your lodging needs during your travels to the Salem area. We look forward to seeing you again to provide exceptional service and clean comfortable rooms .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Shortly after arriving, you will find out that this is beyond dog friendly. The elevator smells like dog. The hallways smell like dog. The room smelled like dog. I was assured at the front desk that dogs were NOT allowed in the hotel section I stayed in, but the next mortning I saw there was a family with a dog in the next room. I killed a bug in my room. The floors wrere DIRTY. At breakfast, the woman at the next table had her dog sitting on a chair at the breakfast table. The dog stood up on the chair and shook its hair all over. The woman working there though that was CUTE! I got up and left in disgust. Dog friendly is something I can live with, but cleanliness for my family must come above everything. I will not stay here again. LaQuinta will hear about this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank BigEddie46571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6269, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. We are a pet friendly hotel and we do have all our guests sign a strict pet policy. We do have a big sign stating we do not allow pets in the breakfast area which most of our pet parents follow. This particular day you saw the pet in the breakfast area was a Service dog - my Assistant G.M. Melanie, checked all the proper credentials to prove that. As you know. Service dogs are an exception. Thank you for your understanding.

Bhanu Patel
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great hotel at a great price!The room was clean and large. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Be aware that it is a pet-friendly place so don't be surprised if you hear dogs barking down the hall at 10:00 pm. However we were not awakened by any animals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the area was also spacious and the layout worked well with multiple guest. We enjoyed our stay and will choose La Quinta again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Perfect stopover in Salem on my way South. Pet-friendly and clean, situated just a few miles from the Rotary dog park, which we used twice. Will definitely stay here again! Free wi-fi and breakfast, can't beat the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank HamFam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing