We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved the motel, it was clean, friendly staff, and nice breakfast. The price was excellent as we received the discount for our age. We will stay here again when we are in town for the ODAC tournament.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    189
    51
    19
    17
See reviews for
301
180
77
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at La Quinta in Salem, VA after a drive from Louisiana. I came in very late at night, the hotel was right off the Interstate, the front desk people were awesome, and got me right into a room. The rooms were clean, modern, and the bed was really comfortable. I slept like a rock. The place has secured parking with cameras, and there were cameras in the hotel. My check out was effortless, the free breakfast was good, and I will stay here next time I come through. Great hotel.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time at a La Quinta and it was very good experience. We will probably have the chance to stay here again, and I will now consider La Quinta in other locations as well. The staff were very friendly accommodating from start to finish, and had no problem w/our Priceline reservation. The location is right off 81, but we didn't have an issue with noise. It is about 3 minutes drive from Roanoke College in Salem.

We were able to choose a room on the 3rd floor, away from the pet floor. We don't have a problem with pets, actually I think it's great they accommodate pets, but we weren't interested in hearing any barking or getting in the way of any dog fights. I did, however, forget to request a room that doesn't not adjoin another, which would probably be an issue in the evening depending on the neighbors. Ours were quiet until the morning. One can hear the next door neighbor loud and clear through the joining door.

Our room was clean and up-to-date. The pillowtop mattresses were quiet and comfortable - the linen was clean and fresh. Two minor issues were a lack of lighting and one side of one of the beds does not have a table. This is probably because the room is on the small side for two double beds. A nice plus were the refrigerator and microwave, and free wi-fi. Why don't higher end hotels provide this? Who knows, but it's extremely convenient.

The bathroom consists of a toilet and the bathtub, which was convenient for us, since we were a party of three. The large sink is by the door, which makes it tricky when you're trying to use the mirror while someone else needs to leave the room.

The breakfast area consists of several tables and a large television. The breakfast served was both hot (biscuits & gravy; a waffle machine) and cold (cereals, bagels, etc.) , and constantly attended by a very friendly staff person. The coffee was free and hot, so what more could you ask?

I recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again, especially with a great priceline deal.

Room Tip: Rooms without an adjoining door; room away from pet floor if you don't have a pet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been at this motel several times and have always been pleased with the cleanliness
and service. They have expanded the breakfast area which is a big plus. The general manager
is very friendly and welcoming. We will return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllentownBarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our first time ever at a La Quinta and it was very pleasant. Desk clerk was polite and friendly, breakfast woman was very friendly and cared that we had what we wanted. Another desk clerk that checked us out set us up to have the same room on our way home. We were travelling with 3 Labs. It was truly a joy to find a hotel that did not charge us extra for our very well-behaved dogs or restrict us on number or size of dogs. Our dogs are clean and polite house-dogs and it was great to have a hotel that respected that. We requested and got a ground floor room and there is a nice grassy spot out the side door. We saw numerous other dogs and there was no barking at night. The room was a little small, but clean and comfortable and 100% smoke free. Very pleased, will be staying there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank amyrK9870HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to visit our Son and Family. We decided to use the Free night Points and called a hour or two ahead to reserve the room. The person we spoke to on the phone was very friendly and knew what he was doing. When we arrived, we were met with a friendly young man and everything was ready for us to check in. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. We have found that any Laquinta we have stayed at is reasonably priced and the free breakfast saves us money as well. It doesn't hurt either that we signed up for free and earn points every time we stay that add up for a free night. You can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Kate4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with my dog in mid-January. Very friendly, welcoming front desk personnel, room large, clean and comfortable, breakfast adequate. Breakfast room under construction but it did not hinder our stay at all, they just moved breakfast down the hall, and were very apologetic. The lady who I assume is the owner/manager was especially warm and friendly. Glad they have those large signs sticking up in the air or I might not have found it at night. Highly recommend this La Quinta.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, elevators diagonally across the hall. Only noise was occasional barkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Property: La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing