We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Choice in Salem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Apron Restaurant and Red Rooster Bar

Blue Apron Restaurant and Red Rooster Bar
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant just opened in Salem, VA a month or two ago. It is wonderful!!! The best place to eat in this small town!
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Salem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

After driving close to 12 hours we stopped in Salem, VA. I had read about the Blue Apron on Tripadvisor.com and I thought we should give it a try, but we were tired and hungry. My husband said, “We are going to the restaurant you picked out”. What a terrific restaurant, we were so happy to have found it. The menu offers a small and large size for most of the items. I wish more restaurants offered this option. The wait staff was attentive and well trained. I had the crab cake on roasted corn and artichokes, it was the best crab cake I have ever eaten, including the ones I have made myself. Scott, the chef, introduced himself as we were completing our meal, and I told him I loved the crab cake, he told me his secret ingredient, but you will have to visit the Blue Apron to find out what it is, I will not give away his secret!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    46
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Like always both the food and the service were excellent. Everything is served beautifully and with wonderful taste combinations. My only complaint is the noise level, it can be almost impossible to hold a conversation. Bad enough that I will think carefully about returning at this point.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mom2both
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I are well traveled and have eaten at many great restaurants around the world and consider ourselves foodies. This by far has been our best dining experience since moving to Christiansburg area 2years ago. My wife's scallops were spot on and my ribeye was cooked to perfection. Great portion sizes and priced for the quality that we received. The wait staff was attentive and the Executive Chef brought his grill cook out to meat I mean meet us. Fun place and will return. .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
562 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in Salem, VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently we were traveling from Pennsylvania to North Carolina and were fortunate to find this amazing little restaurant in Salem, VA. We loved the food and the setting. We went on a Tuesday evening, and called ahead to make a reservation, so were seated shortly after we arrived. It filled up quickly. In addition to the excellent food, we had an excellent bottle of wine.
One of the things we liked about it was that entrees can be ordered in full or half portions. We had mussels to start, small but so sweet and in a wonderful broth, and I had the beet salad which was excellent. My husband had a 1/2 order of crab cakes--very good and filling, and I made the mistake of ordering a full portion of the ahi tuna. Delicious, but definitely too much food for me---especially since I had to have dessert.
This is a place we'll probably stop at again when we make another trip. We really enjoyed it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delectable food with a great ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Laaaawd! The food in this place is UH-MAY-ZING!!! The chef definitely knows what he is doing!

I checked out the website and read the reviews (both good and bad) because I'm extremely picky. The restaurant had 4 out of 5 stars so I figured it was good and worth my time and money seeing as I would be driving to Salem from Lynchburg for the sole purpose of eating there. I must say, The Blue Apron left little to no room for disappoinment. It's a very classy and upscale spot with a great atmosphere. The portions were good, the food DIVINE. The service was great. It's definitely earned it's 5 stars from me!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goroma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Apron Restaurant and Red Rooster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blue Apron Restaurant and Red Rooster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing