We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xinachtli - CLOSED

Xinachtli
300 E Main Street, Salem, VA 24153-4323
(540) 375-2122
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place would be fairly easy to overlook, but that would be a mistake. Great authentic food that you will not find anywhere else in the area. The food is fresh and the owner is very helpful. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenafreaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tiny Place, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I wandered in one day and had lunch. Food is great. Not at all like the usual mexican restaurants in town. I have never been to Mexico but I think this is more representative of Mexican cuisine. I love this place. Only complaint is I never when it is open since they close during posted normal operating hours only on their door and not on their facebook page.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mitched5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nom nom nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I'm currently crunching on a tasty homemade tortilla chip with handmade fresh guacamole on top.

The place is on a street corner in downtown Salem.

It's very charming and quite tasty!!

Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hornsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Food in a Small and Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

A nice place to sit at the bar, chat with the owner, and enjoy fresh homemade good food. The torta with choritzo were excellent, quasidillas and enchalatas quite good, the various fruit drinks interesting. Highly Recommended.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollins, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexcian, with more than just tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

A nice corner diner / lunch counter owned by a Mexican couple. The menu is more varied than the standard Mexican restaurant. A little small, but I've never had to wait to get a seat for lunch.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank global-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing