We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, Friendly, Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Nice queen size beds, spacious room; however, the curtains were not black-out, so if parking lot lights disturb you, this is a problem. Also, when we arrived, the heat was not working - the front desk guy knew the right combination for it, so it was quickly resolved. Breakfast was lovely and in a spacious dining area. Fabulous view of the mountains from the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetonLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    87
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
126
72
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

I was travelling with my daughter in August 2009 when we found this hotel while looking at colleges. When we returned to the area to look at Roanoke College again, we were very excited to stay at this property a second time. The view from the hotel is everything to love about the Roanoke valley. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and rooms are clean. The hotel is new, but maintenence seems to be kept up so far. The outdoor pool was very nice and quiet in the summer. The continental breakfast is excellent- the best of all the hotels in our college search. The beds are very comfortable and the decor is absolutely beautiful. Definitely the nicest hotel in the area and within minutes of the college.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomForCollegeSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I was very pleased with my stay. This hotel is located a little out of town but still very easy to get to Main St and the dining options around. The decor was nice and classic. Bedding was great. Breakfast was nice as well. I would have liked to have another option in the workout room instead of just bike & treadmill. Clean & quiet. Great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

After driving 6 hours we were warmly greeted at the front desk by Kathy. She made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The view from the breakfast area was breath-taking of the mountains. The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable, and very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was abundant. The addition of a hot tub at the pool was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff, including housekeeping, made us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

At the end of a 6+ hour drive received a great welcome, which is exactly what you need.
Very helpful with directions and making sure our stay was comfortable. Good breakfast. Brand new hotel and the rooms are exceptional for Holiday Inn. Large flat screen, very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a very new hotel,so new you can still smell the paint in the rooms. I am a priority club member and asked for a upgrade when I checked in. Kathy at the front desk looked at me like I was trying to rob her and said,"For What!"If all the rooms were booked and she had said so I would have understood,but no such answer, just a frown. No smile or a thank you as I checked in or a welcome acknowledgement and the hotel was not busy at the time. It was not a very nice introduction to a new hotel that I might decide to give my future business.
With that said, it was a very nice layout, the rooms were large and comfortable. The free breakfast area was one of the largest I have seen not to be in a large city. The outside pool area was nice and the fitness room had the usual equipment with a huge TV to watch while you exercised.
All-in-all this is a nice place, the staff just needs to be a little more people friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

I left my 'Hotel Hell' and remembered seeing this new hotel when I exited the interstate, crossed my fingers they had an open room, and thankfully they did! Front desk was super nice and accommodating. Mind you, this place is so new it still smells like paint at times! Micros, fridges, free parking, free wireless, nice plasmas, multiple setting showerheads, beds and pillows are Holiday Inn quality through and through! The view (out the back) is of the Blue Ridge - and is beautiful! I was told there is a very nice, complimentary breakfast downstairs - I will check that out on my way to my meeting. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing