We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better from a Holiday Inn Express.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopping through on our way to Georgia. Very convenient to I-81. The front desk help were very confused and had to chase us out in the parking lot because the room they gave us was already occupied. The next room had a front door that wouldn't latch/lock. Had to switch again. The next room was clean but very dark and uninviting. I literally had to bring a lamp in the bathroom to apply my make up. I wouldn't recommend or stay here on our way back home.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doherty130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Doherty130,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 326 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night at this hotel on October 3, 2013. This hotel was clean and appeared to be new. This was our first night at this hotel and it was on our vacation route. The front desk help was excellent. The lobby area is beautiful and the room was clean and beautiful. Recommend this hotel for anyone needing lodging in the Salem Roanoke area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Frank M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We hope that you and your wife enjoyed your time in the area. We will pass this wonderful feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was that is was newly remodeled. We found out that it is 5 years old and were very surprised. It is super clean and fresh, we saw no carpet stains or wall marks. The room was comfortable and also very clean. The bathroom had granite counters, nice towels, befitting a bit more luxurious hotel. We were pleased and would stay here again. We also appreciate the no pets policy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy34110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Nancy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the area. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Last week my husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Salem, VA, on our way from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. We definitely will stay there again when in the area.

The staff were pleasant, the beds and rooms comfortable with all amenities, the location great---close to Interstate 81, good breakfast with lots of choices, and close to the center of Salem with some great little restaurants. And the price was very good and included breakfast.

Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We hope that you and your husband enjoyed your stay in Salem. We are so glad you enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed or two night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Newer hotel, very nice, clean. Desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and beds extremely comfortable. Convenient location easy to access off Interstate 81. Breakfast was good although seating was not adequate for number of people. Also parking lot did not hold enough vehicles considering the number of rooms. No restaurants at this exit. Rates were rather high, but no more than other facilities along this busy college/football corridor. Hotel was great otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear FrequentTraveler0308,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the area. Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast room, and the parking. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were traveling to BWI and stopped here for the night. Nice updated clean room and helpful staff. This hotel is across the highway from the little town where there is a Denny's and a Starbuck's and more shopping. We had a nice quiet night even though we were on the highway side of the hotel. The Hotel is surrounded by a green belt. The next morning I looked out the window to see TWO hugh tour buses loading. Never even heard them. There was a charge for Breakfast so we went across the highway to Denny's.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Pissaro,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for choosing us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had reservations to stay here Thurs thru Sunday but were called that daughter was in labor on Wednesday. We made it to Roanoke for the birth Thursday AM @ 255 am but after leaving the hospital @ 6 am had no where to go. We went to eat breakfast and then decided to see if we could get into room @ hotel. We were told on the phone early in th4e am the best they could do was let us in the room @ 12 noon. We drove to hotel at 8 am and husband went to talk to front desk about situation. We were able to get into our room around 1030 am. The rooms are newer so cleaner. Friday am the bathroom smelled of sewer gas and the air conditioner unit when put on fan was putting out a musty smell. Reported to the front desk and the person didn't seem to care or listen but someone did go to room and sprayed something cause the odor was gone. Think the room price was a little too much for staying in Salem VA on a weekend... $146/night but we didn't have a choice cause rooms were all booked in area.

Room Tip: For being a newer hotel the mattresses were very uncomfortable...not fun waking up with hurting hips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcginn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear dmcginn,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during this special time. We appreciate your feedback about the room. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We are very sorry if you were inconvenienced at all. Thank you for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $102 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing