We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Holiday Inn an Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn an Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Pigeon Forge, TN. Was very easy to get here off 1-81. Comfortable beds, but small pillows ( but we brought extra pillows) Breakfast buffet was clean and enough for our family. Restaurants within a short drive (5-10min).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us.We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us Thank you for mentioning our breakfast service. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    81
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
122
64
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A nice comfortable place to stay overnight or for a week long trip. Hotel has a lounge to relax at, and the rooms are well apointed. Hotel is immediatly off the freeway exit, so it is easy to get to. Close to many places to eat as well. I would stay at again.

Room Tip: Just ask for their best rate, and they will work with you on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jason P,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in the area. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, it is a fairly new establishment and it was convenient, just off I81. The rooms were clean and well appointed, The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was more than adequate. We will definitely return to this hotel for future visits to the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear richiepug,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salem. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were travelling from North Carolina to Pennsylvania and the location of this hotel worked for our overnight stop. The hotel is easy to find from I-81.

The clerk at the hotel was not welcoming and did not provide any information other than "here are your keys". We put our kids to bed and found out that there is an access code required to get on the wireless in this hotel. I went down to the front desk for the access code and had to wait for the clerk to finish reading a page of her book before she looked up. When I asked for the access code she pointed to 7 unlabeled numbers on my key card envelope and went back to her book.

The room was not very clean. Breakfast was free and worth every penny. Parking was not well lit.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting anything more than a place to sleep for a few hours.

Room Tip: You will not want to stick around so just pick the cheapest room that meets your needs. None of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear b0ch,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

thank you Holiday Inn Express! After staying in so so large chain hotels while traveling with hard beds it was such luxury to stay at this new Holiday Inn Express on the way back home to the VA coast. Situated off VA I-81 with views of the mountains out our window, I found the stay a respite from previous accommodations. the room had restful bedding with upgraded "choice" pillows, nice linens and down mattress covers. Even the brand of " in room" coffee for this coffee lover had great taste. The breakfast room was very pleasantly decorated and loads of choices and offerings even though I am usually a oatmeal and yogurt eater in the mornings. The staff was friendly and professional. Sorry to get up early to leave the next morning.

Room Tip: back side facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear VAbeachgal.

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Salem. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was worn and dirty. The breakfast was horrible. The pancake maker was broke. The wifi barely worked and usually got hung up. The front desk was guarding the password for the wifi like it was an ATM pin. The staff was unpleasant, everyone was calling the front desk staff cranky 1 and cranky 2 . They were telling everyone the pool closed at 9 pm and the sign at the pool said it closed at 10 pm. As a rewards member we have always received a welcome bag with a water and a snack, not here! I will say that they were completely sold out the night we stayed but it was no excuse for the lack of service.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear nowzer,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking time to help us to continually improve our guests experience.

I am truly sorry for the challenges you had during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with your room and breakfast and regret the inconvenience our level of service has caused you. This is definitely not up to our standards, as such, your comments will be looked into and will be used to consider updates where possible.

Your comments are very important to us as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Driving to Pigeon Forge and wanted somewhere close to the interstate. This hotel was perfect with great views of the mountains. The teenagers had a late afternoon dip in the pool. A nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fine a bit disappointed the pancake machine was out of order but they usually are temperamental.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GEW5,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope that you all enjoyed your time in Salem. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Address: 991 Russell Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing