We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is one of the better Holiday Inn Expresses in the area. The hotel was very clean and the staff was accommodating. I would not recommend this hotel for people traveling in over-sized vehicles. The parking lot is small with not much room to maneuver. Access to Interstate 81 can be a little tricky in the mornings because there is not a traffic light exiting the hotel and you must cross four lanes of traffic to get to the turn lane heading North on I-81.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Clint F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We appreciate all guest feedback because, it allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was so clean and comfortable, we just loved it. The hotel smelled so good when we arrived. The breakfast was great, probably the best pancakes that I have ever ate. :) The pillows were a little too fat for me but luckily I always take my own so that wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistyC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear MistyC7,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We value all guest feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, I encountered Janice behind the desk to check me in.She really made me feel welcome and really showed the true meaning of Southern hospitality!!!! This hotel is the cleanest one I have ever stayed at! It smells fresh & clean from the moment you walk thru the lobby doors. They have cookies in the evening for you and an exceptional hot breakfast. I will be staying here on my trips thru the Salem area and will definitely tell friends & family about this quaint little hotel. Very easy access off I-81. Thanks for making my stay a memorable one!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountainview Room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddybearluvr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Teddybearluvr71,

Thank you so much for completing this review about our hotel. We appreciate your time. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your kind words about Janice. We will make sure that we pass these comments on to her. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My brother and I stayed here while in Salem for our oldest brother's surgery at the VA hospital there. We were so exhausted from our two days at the hospital and it was so very nice to be in a super clean room,nice hot breakfast the next morning and the staff that we encountered were so very nice and welcoming. Thanks so much for making a very trying experience a little more bearable.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank BethFields48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear BethFields48,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope your brother is feeling better. Thank you for all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend during a visit with our daughter at college. Initially, I was disappointed that we were not in Blacksburg but after staying here I was very pleasantly surprised. It is a lovely hotel, one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express hotels that I have ever been in anywhere. Everything was spotless down to the fluffy white towels in the scrubbed clean bathrooms. No leftover hair etc. anywhere! The staff were all very friendly, courteous and went out of their way to help. The breakfast is simply terrific for what is supposed to only be continental-- plenty of fresh hot coffee, tea, juices. Cereal choices, pancakes, cinnamon rolls(YUM!!!!) other breads, eggs, sausage and like all great Southern traditions....sausage gravy and biscuits! We were so pleased we have just booked for a return visit in a month....didn't even bother looking for anywhere else. This hotel is a true gem!

Room Tip: The only thing that needs tweaking....is truly handicap accessible rooms. A bathtub with rails on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatesFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear KatesFolly,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast service. We are always trying to find ways to make the service better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed one night during a football game weekend at Virginia Tech. This was our first stay at this hotel, but definitely not our last. The front desk staff was very nice at check-in. We arrived at 10:30 pm and while the desk clerk was helping a person before me, one of the other front desk staff walk in on there way home for the night. Instead of continuing on she stopped and checked me in realizing I wasn't with the other person. This should me they really cared about the customer, she could have easily gone home and left the other desk clerk to help me when he was done. Thank you, after a 5 1/2 hr drive it was much appreciated. Our room was spacious, well appointed with flat panel TV and everything was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was in a very open and spacious room next to the lobby and the food selection was great. Easy on and off I-81 also. Couldn't have asked for more. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Mountain view is very nice at sunset and in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffdogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear geoffdogdoc,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We are so happy that you stayed with us. We are glad that we could accommodate you and your family. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed twice during the past 10 days. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Room was immaculate both stays. The breakfast was good. Everything was fresh and hot. Looking forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Carol C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
518 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
171 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Dr, Salem, VA 24153-3068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing