We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle Vista” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Belle Vista”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel built in 2009. The decor, not to mention the view of the mountains is absolutely beautiful. Great breakfast in the morning and last but not least, we loved the automatic pancake maker. Every hotel should have one. Easy access from highway. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor above the pool area with view of the moutains and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFLOVESFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you so very much for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate your comments about the great view from your room. Thank you as well for your comments about the pancake machine, we have been getting a lot of great comments about that. We strive as a hotel to give every guest in our hotel a great experience.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again in Salem!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    79
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
116
63
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is close to Roanoke Va. but away from the noise and bustle. The beds are a dream and rooms are large. The decor is very attractive. I didn't have the opportunity to use the hot tub but they HAVE one. The breakfast area was larger than most and clean.

Room Tip: I had a room on the third floor with a room overlooking the hillside to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAH5303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your time. Thanks for the great comments about your room. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in Salem!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

From the very start everything was great. The person at the front desk was happy to see us and provided us with great service, including making several recommendations for dinner and providing us with a map so we could find them. The room was clean, well-appointed and just what we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express as well as being very quiet. The breakfast bar the next morning was at all times clean and well stocked with a variety of delicious foods. It was overall a great experience and we will defiantly stay there again when we travel up I-81 into Virginia.

westymtnman@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westy2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thanks for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about your breakfast. We will pass your comments on to our staff about how the helped you. They always appreciate hearing great comments.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

Thanks again for your time!! We hope you will stay with us again in Virginia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, OH
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice hotel-nice large breakfast area, but not as well stocked as some we have visited. Staff was very helpful and friendly. This was our first visit to the area--family member just moved to Salem. All in all, a nice hotel, wish it had an indoor pool. The decorating is not to my taste but the hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have staying this year about 6 times in the Holiday Inn Express Salem. It is over the top clean and great people...

Room Tip: The rooms are big and always spotless .. There is no noise and great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you are repeat visitors to our hotel. We appreciate your great comments about our hotel. We strive to make every guests stay the best!! We are happy that we accommodated you!!

Thanks again for your time!!! We hope you come stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed 4 days over Labor Day weekend. When we entered the room I was surprised to find there was no hotel information like we would normally find...such as location of business center, times the pool was open, etc. Later we discovered the first of many things wrong with the bathroom:

#1 the toilet seat was broken but usable. The seat had pulled out one of the mounts that hold it to the bowl.

#2 the shower rod was pulling out of the wall on both ends and sagged down, causing the curtain to slide towards the middle....it was impossible to keep the curtain closed so water went out onto the floor. You would be constantly pulling on the curtain to one side or the other, and it would just slide back to the middle.

#3 the soap holder was sticking out from the middle of the wall....usually the holder is in a corner or on the back wall. As a result the holder kept poking me as I was showering. Also, the shower spray was hitting the soap and turning it into mush. We finally put the soap into one of the plastic cups provided and set it on the bathtub edge in the back.

#4 the wall between our bathroom and the adjoining one was so thin that my wife could hear the man next door doing his business on the toilet...she said it was like he was in the room with her.

Saturday night we came back to the room after being out all day. My wife noticed a smell, and then we saw that the desk lamp shade was turned sideways, causing the light bulb to be right up against the shade and causing it to melt. We fixed the shade before it caught on fire.

On the last night we wanted a munchy from the vending machine, only to find the machine had been broken a week ago and still was not repaired.

Otherwise the room was fine....the beds were OK (we've had better), the AC worked fine, and the breakfast was decent. If the bathroom had been just average we would have been pleased. But with all the issues we encountered, we can't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
First we would like to apologize about your recent stay in our hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay. Clearly we did not provide that for you. For that we apologize. We are currently working on the issues that you had with your room We are working on getting those issues fixed.

Thanks again for your review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here on the way home from traveling to Orlando. The hotel appeared to be newer, but our room is already showing some signs of wear. First of all, the paint appeared to be peeling away from the wall. My husband thought there could have been some water damage. Also, the was a relatively large cobweb on the ceiling. We even found a spider on the bed to go along with it. We didn't complain to the staff as we were all exhausted form our drive. I did a bedbug check and didn't find any, but they mattresses still have the plastic casing around them. Maybe too prevent bed bugs? The plastic didn't help with the beds comfort. Breakfast was good and satisfied us for the rest of our trip home.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terric315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Your concerns about the room are currently being worked on. Our staff is currently working on fixing the rooms up to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Your comments help us improve.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you consider us again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing