We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rate, No Frills”
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Check in was quick, I'd made an on-line reservation so my key and paperwork was waiting for me. Motor court style, parked right outside my door. Room was clean and well maintained. Microwave, fridge, no hairdryer.
Heat/AC unit was quiet and worked well. Good lineup on the TV channels. Wi-Fi signal was strong and worked very well. Pillows a little flatter than I prefer, but otherwise OK. Overall, a typical economy room, but if you are looking for a no frills hotel with a good rate this should work fine. 24 hour Omelette Shoppe right next door, convenience stores and other restaurants are close as is the interstate.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

I was traveling with some friends for a race. I've stayed in some less than luxurious accomodations before and I'm certainly not expecting the Ritz from an Econo lodge but JEEZ! This was the worst hotel EVER!!!!! The smell was so bad we bought air freshener to cover it up. The mattress was at least 22 years old (as evidenced by the tag that had 3 month flipping instructions starting in 1987). We opened the door to let the bugs out. They were fleeing the room at a manic pace. The door to the bathroom had a huge crack in it so you could watch anyone doing their business. Stains were on everything. If we could we would have switched hotels but b/c of the football game everything was booked. What an awful mess this place was.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockcreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Not a fancy hotel, but the least expensive, and the room was great. The owners are updating the motel, and our room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Carpet was clean, bed was firm, comfortable and clean; bathroom was obviously older, but very clean. We were happy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestestGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

This Hotel is ok for the price, we stayed for 3 nights the first night we had a regular room it was nice and pretty clean, the only problem was that the neighbors were having a big party witch was not the hotels fault, i could of handeled the noise of people talking but we hears beer bottles clanking non stop and ever 2 minutes the door would slam and i had a 2 year ld with me trying to sleep we came all the was from michigan, so we called the desk and they took care of it and made people leave their was like 5 car loads of people that were in that one little room. then the last 2 nights we upgraded to the jacuzzi room witch i thought would be better the room looked ok had a bad smell in it and the jacuzzi was dirty i had to have my husband go get some cleaning suplies and i had to clean it then my daughter had to go to the bathroom and i went to take her and i would not even put her near the toliet their was urine and feces all over it it was discusting. but besides having to clean the tub and toliet myself it was an ok stay...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegibbons14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

If you need a bed to lay your head, this will do just fine. Don't expect ANY frills, but for the price, it really can't be beat. It's definitely seen better days, but it was quiet, the bed and linens were new.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2006

I stayed at the EconoLodge as a pit stop on my way to North Carolina. It stood fine for what we needed, but it didn't have a pool or extras like that. The staff had great people's skills, even at 11:30PM, and the breakfasts were tasty and fresh. It was a pretty good hotel to stay at. The only thing is, there was some paint dripped in some places in our room. I would definaty stay here again for a pit stop, but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2006

Its a good, steady, dependable option for the area. Consistently clean with very convenient parking and walking distance from several dining options as well as a grocery store.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LilMissMuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
510 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 301 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2319 (Formerly Stay Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $47 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing