We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed messages”
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mixed messages”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a clean, attractive place to stay this isn't it. Motel is old. For me the redeeming feature was a door to outside rather than a inside corridor. Rooms had fridge and microwave. According to the Choice Privileges web site where I booked my stay there was a continental breakfast. Don't believe it. Not even a coffee pot in room or lobby. If you want coffee there is a 24 hour waffle house or something similar next door. I got in late and was tired - room was damp and cold. Turned heat on high and finally took covers off bed and slept in my cloths. Soft damp spots in the floor, TV worked but remote didn't and the water in the tub dripped all night even though I tried to turn it off all the way. Toilet flushing was iffy. I had stayed in this place 16-18 years ago and had been snowed in for three days with some friends. We had a great time. This trip managed to remove all good memories of the motel. Thank goodness I still have the friends I was snow bound with and the Shoneys down the road has kept up with the times and is still great. Lots of other motels/hotels on this strip so don't get stuck here.

Room Tip: There are no redeeming features to this motel except if you like a outside door so you don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    9
    7
    14
See reviews for
16
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I walk into motel and the representative was blasting his personal music on his lap top and doesn't turn it down for us to talk. I asked the rate and he said $49.99 plus tax and hands me a paper to fill out. This form required my name address and phone number (all fine) as well as my drivers life lisense number!? I filled it all out and handed it back. I asked the representative if there was a AAA membership discount and the representative (and I'm not joking) raises his voice and yells "THIS IS THE LOWEST RATE!" I was like ok wow got it thanks. He then asked me for my credit card and says "that will be 59.99" and I go I thought you said 49.99? He goes "plus tax" I'm like really?? but ok whatever... I see that he is not swiping my credit card but writing my credit card # on the paper which includes all of my personal information. It is a known fact that no legitimac BBB business never writes down your credit are info! Its a huge security risk! I asked why he would need to write my credit # down and he said that's just how they do it.L and showed me a pile of orber peoples credit card #'s! I advised him that that is a very poor idea as anyone could break in and steal that info! I immediately asked for my card and that piece of paper back and left. THIS PLACE HAS POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ADDITONALLY OPERATES ITS BUSINESS IMORRALLY. DO NOT GO HERE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgs909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here one night in August 2012 the gentlemen who booked my room was so polite and very helpful, the room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I had driven around all the others were booked or were very expensive this was half what other hotels wanted and I have stayed in others in Blacksburg, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This property had a two star rating, but the rater must have seen it twenty years ago.

When a hotel has people living their year-round, it tells you something.

The place smells, the beds were old, the paint was peeling in the bathroom, and we did not feel safe.

We turned our key in and got a refund, and stayed at a real hotel (quality) down the road.

Do not say here. Period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candor, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

While traveling back from a wonderful vacation in South Carolina, we needed to find a basic motel room to spend the night. Since I was doing the driving, my husband offered to take care of it. The motel was inexpensive, especially with the discount coupon. Although our room was nonsmoking, it had obviously been a smoking room in a previous life . The chairs were stained and the furnishings outdated. The beds were comfortable and the shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water, but the carpet....all I can say is "GROSS!" Perhaps the carpet is where the cigarette smoke smell came from!
There are several other lodging options at that exit. I would recommend you try one ot those. Needless to say, my husband will not be in charge of lodging next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was a basic room which is what we expected for the price. It was clean and larger than your average "budget" room. The heating was noisy (like an old boiler) and guests in other rooms were noisy but the room itself was quite satisfactory for our one-night stay.

The hotel is within sight of the highway, so for those traveling it's a great location, and there are many and varied places to eat within sight of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The room was cheap enough with the coupon from the motel discount coupon book. It was very outdated. The carpet was worn and faded. Porcelain had scraped off the sink. The shower head was broken, and was stuck on one of the massage settings. Mattresses were hard as a rock, and the pillows were flat as pancakes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Property: Motel 6
Address: 301 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2319 (Formerly Stay Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing