We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice homey place”
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here one night in August 2012 the gentlemen who booked my room was so polite and very helpful, the room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I had driven around all the others were booked or were very expensive this was half what other hotels wanted and I have stayed in others in Blacksburg, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

This property had a two star rating, but the rater must have seen it twenty years ago.

When a hotel has people living their year-round, it tells you something.

The place smells, the beds were old, the paint was peeling in the bathroom, and we did not feel safe.

We turned our key in and got a refund, and stayed at a real hotel (quality) down the road.

Do not say here. Period.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

While traveling back from a wonderful vacation in South Carolina, we needed to find a basic motel room to spend the night. Since I was doing the driving, my husband offered to take care of it. The motel was inexpensive, especially with the discount coupon. Although our room was nonsmoking, it had obviously been a smoking room in a previous life . The chairs were stained and the furnishings outdated. The beds were comfortable and the shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water, but the carpet....all I can say is "GROSS!" Perhaps the carpet is where the cigarette smoke smell came from!
There are several other lodging options at that exit. I would recommend you try one ot those. Needless to say, my husband will not be in charge of lodging next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was a basic room which is what we expected for the price. It was clean and larger than your average "budget" room. The heating was noisy (like an old boiler) and guests in other rooms were noisy but the room itself was quite satisfactory for our one-night stay.

The hotel is within sight of the highway, so for those traveling it's a great location, and there are many and varied places to eat within sight of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The room was cheap enough with the coupon from the motel discount coupon book. It was very outdated. The carpet was worn and faded. Porcelain had scraped off the sink. The shower head was broken, and was stuck on one of the massage settings. Mattresses were hard as a rock, and the pillows were flat as pancakes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at the Econolodge in Salem Va. over Thanksgiving 2011, we knew that the hotel was older being that we are originally from the Salem area. But I would say that it was as clean if notcleaner than most hotels we have stayed, and the bed was very comfortable, so if you are not looking for all the luzuries and just want a nice place to spend the night this place will do you...

Room Tip: Just pick a non-smoking room even if you smoke as I do, you can go outside and smoke..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was by far one of the worst motels i have ever stayed in. The pillows were flat, lumpy, and very old. The bed was hard, the comforter was torn. There was NO HOT WATER! We called the front desk to complain about the water, and their response was to wait a few mins.. we waited over 5 mins and the water never warmed up. Everything in this motel was VERY outdated and a waste of money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salem VA
Super 8 Salem VA
#7 of 14 in Salem
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Salem
Days Inn Salem
#10 of 14 in Salem
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
528 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 301 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2319 (Formerly Stay Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $47 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing