We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a WalMart parking lot instead!!”
Review of Dixie Caverns

Dixie Caverns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dixie Caverns
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stay in a WalMart parking lot instead!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Only campground in the area. Bathhouse is disgusting. Field showers in the military are cleaner. Grass has not been cut in awhile. Not enough room between campers to put your awning out. Walk out camper door and trip on neighbors sewage hookups. People (site62) have dogs in camper crying all the time. No ac on or windows open for them. Notified mgr. had to make a call to owner, did not know what to do. Nothing was done. Campground does not look anything like the picture in their flyer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hogansville, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As you drive in, the campground has a very unkept appearance, but it looked like it would be okay for a two nights stay. How wrong we were!!! Once we saw the bathhouse, we realized we made a big mistake. The bathhouse was filthy. An expert cleaning crew would have a hard time getting this place clean. Also, Dixie Caverns is located right next to the I-81 off ramp; and the highway noise prevents anyone from getting a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Village, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here because we had business on the west side of Roanoke. The campground, itself, has a very unkept appearance, but was, basically sufficient for a quick overnight. It is located right next to the I-81 off ramp; and highway noise kept us from getting a good nights sleep. The staff who work in the office were very friendly and helpful. We would not stay here again unless there were no other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We chose to stay at Dixie Caverns because it is the town our daughter moved to. Big mistake! I have never been to a place where every lot is COVERED in dog poop. The snow was not plowed from any of the sites and you had to tow your camper over snow banks, through mud pits. The only positive point to this place is that the people were friendly, the cable worked well and so did the free wi-fi. You couldn't hear any of the traffic from the interstate either. There were a LOT of junk rvs and home made campers/shacks there which people were living in year round. Just not a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maineguide38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I camped here while traveling through Virginia on I-81. For $7.50 I had a tent site in a quiet campground--a real bargain. The bathhouse is locked with a key code for entry, and it was spotless.

I didn't have time to visit the caverns, but noticed that there is a nice gift shop.

The campground is convenient to the interstate but very quiet and clean.

Helpful?
7 Thank vcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
460 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
158 reviews
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
238 reviews
5.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixie Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Caverns

Property: Dixie Caverns
Address: 5753 W Main St, Salem, VA 24153-8239
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Salem
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Dixie Caverns Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing