We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where is the air conditioning????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Salem
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Where is the air conditioning????”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice HOWEVER, the AC is not on in the lobby OR the pool area. It's like a sauna. Also, the eco friendly rooms take forever to cool down. In each of the three rooms we have we turned the themistat down as soon as we entered the rooms. After 4 hours two of the rooms still weren't cool. This is day 1 of our stay here. I will rate this hotel each of the 3 days we are here. I hope the manager that appears to be very hard to locate sees this while we are here. We will be asking for a discount for our discomfort for each of the 3 rooms that we paid $100+ for if it doesn't get any better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
92
70
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red House, West Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was great. Even though it was last August, we still talk about how great it was. Highly recommend to anyone traveling I81. Large selection of restaurants close by, many within walking distance. Great staff! Will stay again if in area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BALLMOM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Mrs and I were put in a room that was 85 degrees-hostess suggested 4 other room were same. After unpacking and repacking we decided we would just have to deal with the heat. Next morning I tried to speak with general Mgr. not in when home I called on 5 other times-not in
I then called corp final got response Via E-Mail give me 20% discount. WOW for all discomfort
and sign states guarntee !00% satisfaction. For 95% being uncomfortable they give 20% not
100%

Room Tip: check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Mr. Unhappy,

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. Yes our building is Eco-friendly so when someone is not in the room the AC or heat does not keep running. We also have thermostats on the wall so when you come in to the room you can just turn it to the number you like. I'm sorry that you did not understand this. We did you give you full refund.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our family of four adults spent the night here while traveling, The room was a good size with 2 queen beds and a pull out bed. Due to medical issues we have to bring a lot of stuff into the room and there was plenty of room for everything including storing the suitcases. We took the opportunity to stretch ours legs in the saltwater pool and massage our backs in the whirlpool. It was wonderful! The pool was not too chilly and the whirlpool was nice and hot. There were a couple of kids in the pool when we got there and they were having a blast so I would also recommend it for families with children. The staff was helpful and patient during our stay. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and any item that was running low was promptly replaced. We visited a couple of fast food places in town and found everything to be convenient and the people were friendly. I'm not sure why others were talking about coupons. saving money is always good but this place is already very reasonably priced based on our experience with hotels.

Room Tip: we always ask for a first floor room because we don;t like elevators or stairs. We were near the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We truly appreciate your feedback! We strive to make everyone's stay as wonderful as yours! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden,Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here 2 weeks ago on our way home ,beautiful hotel, nice rooms that were large and very comfy! nice swimming pool and hottub to enjoy! the continental breakfast was also very good.This was a very nice place to stay .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are so happy you had a great experience at our hotel. We love hearing such positive feedback. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at another Comfort Suites last week. This time I drove over two thirds of the way home before stopping in Salem, Virginia. The price was a little more that the previous Comfort Suites. I made reservations several hours earlier. At the first rest stop in Virginia I picked up A HotelCoupons.com magazine. The advertised price for my suite was $25.00 less with the coupon.
The hotel was gracious to honor the discount. Comfort Suites is a great value and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The same great suite but it had a wall thermostat to control the A/C. All of the reviews praised the beds and multiple pillows. I will definitely stay their in the near future. Always grab the HotelCoupons.com magazine.

Room Tip: Use the HotelCoupons.com magazine coupon to get the best available discount price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for such positive feedback. We love hearing that you loved our hotel. We cannot wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this hotel on our way to the Great Smoky Mountain national park. We did not have any reservation and just stopped by and asked if they had anything available. I was impressed by how big the rooms were and how clean. The staff is helpful and breakfast is of reasonable Quality. Overall it's a good deal for a family with kids.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank erezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
410 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Property: Comfort Suites Salem
Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing