We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not the best for Service, but O.K.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Salem
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the best for Service, but O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed here during a weekend getaway, hotel was helpful with early check in as I called in advance the day of travel to request, room was nice and clean, however weekend desk clerk was clueless on all counts, no name badge, eating when first approached with a mouthful of fast food, felt it was more important to take a bite of his food then to address me when I approached Justin at front desk, no smile, no personality, even throughout my weekend stay as often as I have spoken to him to ask about restaurants, and mall dirctions, he choose to ignore me when we crossed paths rather than say hello or goodmorning. Breakfast was good, although water pitcher at food service area was dirty as it had food particles floating in the bottom of it, all in all not a bad stay, would choose it again when in the area, but justin needs to find a new career,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Railroadguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    84
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
59
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Room had plenty of space. Beds were comfortable. Sheets were clean. Bathroom well-lit and well-stocked. Seating area very spacious. Desk area with extra outlets and oversized work space. A/C worked very well. Staff extremely pleasant and accomodating. We travel with insulin which needs to be kept cool. We were unsure about the accuracy of the fridge in the room. If a water bottle freezes, no harm. If insulin freezes, it's big bucks. Staff gladly kept the insulin in a secure, refrigerated area and they went to the trouble to wrap and label it! Breakfast was good and hot. Super value for this room using the coupon from the booklets at the VA Welcome Center. Superb Mexican restaurant right next store.

Room Tip: Get the coupon from the VA Welcome Center booklets and save a bundle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We love hearing that from our customers! We hope if you are ever traveling through the area again we will see you!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and needed a comfortable place to stay for several nights that would also fit our budget - we absolutely found it at the Comfort Suites in Salem! The staff were amazing - my husband made friends with both the day and evening front desk weekday managers who were very helpful. The breakfast was the best I've had at a Comfort Suites with a great variety of items and the woman who took care of the breakfast greeted every single guest with a smile and a good morning. She made sure all items were available at all times! Our room was spotless when we arrived and the cleaning staff were helpful and respectful of our coming and going (when we stay for several days we don't require a daily room clean up). I have spent many years as a corporate meeting planner and have stayed at some of the top hotels in the largest cities - this Comfort Suites truly does live up to all the positive reviews! I'm so pleased to have found a nice place to stay when we visit our children in Roanoke, VA! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kozikreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. We look forwarding to you passing through again! I have passed your words of wonderful praises onto the correct departments!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Check in was professional and Justin made sure we were satisfied. Opted to skip the nice looking pool and hot tub as it was full of at least a dozen young children. Breakfast was fine - everything you need to start another day on the road. Would stay again and recommend. Several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunners777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We truly appreciate your positive feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. We look forwarding to having you stop in again. If you ever need anything please feel free to contact me.

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Comfort Suites West Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Superlatives all the way: service, comfort of bed, quality of furnishings/towels, cleanliness, value, included breakfast. Readily accessible to I-81 and near a variety of eateries. Fridge, microwave in room a plus. Thermostat on the wall = YAY! Strangely, for a new hotel, there is no fan installed in the bathroom and so pretty foggy mirror...and they'll be dealing with the aftermath of all that humidity in the years to come. But for right now...

The only complaint hasn't to do with Comfort Suites, per se. Rooms on the back of the building--especially near the one end--are very near the garbage tip...and the city truck comes around 0530 and even tho' I was wearing earplugs and a pillow over each ear (snoring partner) and there was the ambient "white noise" of my CPAP machine...the hydralics and lid-clanging of the garbage pickup woke us both. Argh! I later mentioned it to the front desk and they were very apologetic, stated they were not only aware of the situation but have complained/requested a scheduling change from the city's pick-up. Apparently, city staff are unwilling to accommodate a business whose customers pay to sleep!!

Would I stay there again? Absolutely--but not on the back of the building on either of the nights of the week when garbage pick up is scheduled for the next morning.

Room Tip: Front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I wanted to let you know that I have spoken to the sanitation superviser and can assure you this matter will be taken care of. We look forward to seeing you on your way through again!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second time staying here. Very comfortable, clean rooms. Breakfast in the morning is a plus! Our room had 2 queen beds, lots of space. Price was very inexpensive, less than $100. There are many fast food, shopping, and gas stations in the area. It's proven to be a nice 'stopover' for us on our road trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaThreesisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a very nice review for us! We are extremely glad that your stay was very comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are large, a nice sofa area, defined from the sleep area by a good wall. CLEAN, quiet and all staff we came into contact with were friendly and open. We were given good information about the area, places to visit in Salem and in Roanoke. Breakfast was decent, typical but abundant and clean.
The hotel is very close to downtown and shopping, restaurants actually within walking distance. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet - hotel is on a main road but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Codgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We truly appreciate your feedback and are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us! We strive to make it as comfortable as possible and when you let us know how good we did, we feel honored. We will see you soon!

Thanks,
Ashley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Property: Comfort Suites Salem
Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing