We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Salem
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms was large with sofa area, quiet and clean and staff was friendly. Easy check in and out. Great place to stay, close to downtown,shopping ,and resturants.Would stay again. Love the indoor headed pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your online comment. We truly value your opinion and feedback. We hope when you travel through Salem, VA again we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
85
55
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We came here just to get away for a weekend and the reviews were nice. we checked in and were given a two queen suite on the third floor like we asked for. When we got to the room you could see all the dust the room was filthy with dust like noone had stayed in the room for a long time. Next we opened the windows and u could see those were verry dirty too hand prints and dirt smeered all over them. The pools hot tub was broken the first day but they fixed it the next. The beds were clean and comftorable the breakfast was also really nice. Check out was at 11am and we thought that was a little early and wanted a late check out we called the desk and we wanted to check out at 1 they rudly told us that we could only postpone it 30 minuetes or they would charge us for another night. We left at 12:30 and the next day on the bill they had charged us 10$ for checking out late! They also charged us 7.00$ for 3 FREE local calls! overall cit was just OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There is not a huge selection of family-style places to stay in Salem. Heck, there isn't a huge selection in all of Virginia. I really wish I could figure out why that is, but I'm not going to spend a ton of time on it.

We chose this place because, for whatever the reason, the Comfort Suites appears to be meeting that need. And this location in particular is at a good stopping point for us, and we also had good luck at another Comfort in the state. Score. As has been pointed out, the staff is friendly, the place is clean. All good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crittenden,virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel room was large, two beds with a sofa area that could be pulled out. This type room would be great with families that travel with a grandparent, so all can sleep in the same room. The hotel is right off the interstate so would make for a good place to stop for the night. The best thing is right around the corner, walking distant, is a wonderful italian restaurant called Mamma Maria's. Try the homemade gelato. There is also a mexican restaurant next to the hotel, did not try it, but lots of cars in the parking lot. The area was safe, and well lighted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean and convenient to I-81. We stayed there on December, and I noticed they had 'special touch' included - a cute rubber ducky in a nutcracker suit sitted on top of the towels. It was an adorably welcoming sight! :)

Their breakfast had good selections. The waffles were great. Food Lion is a walking distance and so are some restaurants. Very Satisfied++++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It has been a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know we appreciate your business. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed on business trip after using other Choice Hotels in the area for several years. This Comfort Suites is normally priced above the rest of the Quality Inn, Sleep Inns, etc. in the area. In the winter, when the "touristas" are scarce, they reduce their Senior Rate below $80, so I thought I would give them a try. Really is a nice place. WiFi is quite fast and supports NetFlix, which is my standard test. Televisions are upgraded to flat-screen, although the hotel does not subscribe to HD service.
Breakfast was standard Choice fare. Desk staff are friendly and courteous. There is a fitness room with only one treadmill, so go early if you want your turn.
Will probably use this hotel in the off-season, but won't pay the higher rates in he summer.

Room Tip: Any would be OK I would think. Room on the West side would obviously not get the morning sun, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Please accept my sincere thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Our staff will always do everything possible to merit the confidence you have shown in us. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was concerned about finding a room with enough space for two adults and a teenager, but this room fit the bill perfectly. With two queen beds and a pull-out sofa bed, it worked extremely well. Obviously, with a sitting area, this was quite a large room. There was plenty of space for all three of us. The closet wasn't huge, but I don't really unpack a great deal in a hotel room, so we just used it for hanging coats, really.

The bathroom was spotless and good sized. As other reviewers have noted, the light wasn't extremely bright, but overall, it was very nice.

This hotel had a large, nice lobby and a good sized breakfast area with standard fare. I would recommend staying at this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Guest like you are a pleasure, and we are delighted to have had you with us. Please do not hesitate to call us if we can be of any service. Again, thank you and we are glad you enjoyed you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Property: Comfort Suites Salem
Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing