We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We normally stay at Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express. I was very apprehensive about staying somewhere other than those two places, but due to the fact we travel with a small dog, this was our only option. We had to stay a total of seven nights because of the type of business trip we were on. (This review is a combination of two different stays with a weekend seperating the two stays).
The first half of the stay was great. The room was clean and cool. I felt immediately at home and really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff. The front desk staff was exceptional and the maintenance staff was friendly as well. My little dog was even provided a little treat bag. The only thing that wasn't great was the dampness in our room the first day or so. They had shampoo'd the carpet in our room the day we arrived and it hadn't finished drying all the way. We voiced our concern to the front desk and she offered to move our rooms. We told her it would not be necessary. She told us to just turn the heat on full blast when we went out for the evening and most of the dampness would be gone. We did that and by the time we arrived back, our room was dry as a bone. Check-out was a breeze and the staff wanted to make sure our stay was great.
The second portion of our stay was just as great! Large, clean room. Friendly staff....

The hotel does need a bit of updating, but it is stll a great place to stay. I would advise for you to bring your own pillows, as the ones in the room aren't very comfy.... but the bed is great!

Next time I travel to the Salem area, I will choose Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room if possible. There isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
29
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, a week apart, on our way to and from Charleston. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. On the first stay we discovered there was no hot water and the matter was resolved quickly by the staff. They had a problem with a water heater. The breakfast was more than adequate with hot items included and the staff made sure it was well stocked. Unfortunately it is a two story facility with no elevator. The first stay was on the second floor and an elevator would have been nice. Second stay was on the first floor and was much easier to deal with. The location is ideal right off the Interstate. The value for the price was very good. There are restaurants in the immediate area making it very convenient. All in all both stays were fine.

Room Tip: Get on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our last stop on our long trip home. It was listed as inexpensive and rated Ok on tripadvisor. The room was Ok but we ended up at the farthest reach of the hotel on the second floor building with no elevator. The TV remote did not work in one of the rooms, 2 of the 3 ice machines were broken and breakfast had tghe least number of options of all of our 4 stops.

Room Tip: Did not get second floor unless you wish to carry luggage up. Unfortunately most of the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghmagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean and comfortable, nice and quiet, even with people coming and going all night. Beautiful area too. Woman at front desk was friendly and helpful. Very good value. A few minutes from restaurants by car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimaphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocomb, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

On our way to NYC for vacation, in the middle of the night, our vehicle broke down. We ended up at the Quality Inn, Salem, Virginia, for the night while we tried to get our trip back on way. We had very limited funds for such a pricey emergency and the Accounts Manager made an unfortunate circumstance a pleasant pit stop. The entire staff worked to get us back on the road, were more than courteous and thoughtful. I have never been to a hotel who treated me like a friend, or went so far out of their way for complete strangers.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience hospitality, a rare occurrence in these days. We couldn't have made the trip without them. The hotel wasn't perfect (nothing is) but it was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and honestly felt like its own vacation.


Thanks again, and God Bless from Slocomb, AL

-- Steven, Dawn, & Angelica

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelGrace13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel. Nicely decorated rooms, but some "mars and scars". No elevator, so request a first-floor room if you don't "do" stairs. Friendly, helpful staff. Best breakfast of our trip: large selection of breakfast items including eggs and sausage--suitable for low-carb diets.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second floor. Exterior entrances to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigsfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had stayed there in fall of 2011 before spending a night there now. The overall cleanliness was worse than i remembered it to be. All the edges of the carpet in our room were dusty. The shower curtain was stained with dirt, so was the ceiling of our room. The A/C was rather loud.The beds were clean though.
The free breakfast is still nice and they have free wifi. Room had fridge and microwave. So it´s still o.k. for a single night, but they should apply more care cleaning up and start renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 151 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Salem
Salem Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing