We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Thanksgiving through the weekend and were quite happy with this hotel. It has been renovated and the rooms that were previously getting a bit worn and now fresh and clean. There is an ample free breakfast and free Wi-Fi and the hotel is convenient to shopping, restaurants and movie theaters. The check-in and check-out were quick and in between we were always greeted by any staff we encountered with a friendly hello.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BearTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    10
    14
    6
See reviews for
31
24
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at Comfort Suites for 2 and a half months and I have no complaints whatsoever. The entire staff was always very pleasant and very accommodating. From the front desk people to the breakfast ladies, to the ones driving the shuttles, up to the people making the rooms. They made my stay very homey and warm. I did not get a chance to interact with the manager but just getting to know the staff and seeing how they are is in itself a reflection of their manager. So... Fantastic Job!!!

Relatives came to visit and found the place really pleasant with a nice view to boot.

Rooms were nice and cozy and had everything you needed, a tv, hot iron, air-conditioning that worked like a charm, refrigerator, hair dryer... And if you ever forgot your razor or toothpaste, you could request it at the front desk.

They have a gym, laundry room, a pool, an outdoor Jacuzzi and they also allow pets.

Towels and toiletries were replaced daily. Beds were made neatly everytime.

So if you are ever in Salem, this would be a nice place to stay.

Thanks for the wonderful experience, and if I ever get sent to Salem again I'll ask my employer to send me back to Comfort Suites!

Room Tip: If you like a room/a suite, and if you've got some spare cash get room 322. It has its own livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I took a contract job in Salem VA.Before my apartment was ready I spent two wonderful weeks living at the Comfort Inn in Salem VA. The hotel was physically close to my work and to a local shopping center. That didm't matter, though, the hotel provided a shuttle that took me to work, out to eat and even out for shopping. As a non-driver this was fantastic!

It is the staff to which I owe particular thanks. The staff was constantly kind, attentive and courteous. I formed friendships with at least three of the staff with whom I still exchange greetings.

The room was eel kep considering I was there for a prolonged period. Halls were clean and neat. Gust laundry was clean.I'm sorry I missed the hot tub, but it had closed down for the season,

Room Tip: I preferred the ground (2nd) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed one night on my way down the Blue Ridge Parkway. The room was just fine. Bed was very comfortable and and room was very clean. Bathroom was fine as well.

Based on the very few cars in the parking lot, I suspect the hotel wasn't very full, which might have been a contributing factor for breakfast, which was unacceptable. There were only a few tiny pancakes and half a strip of bacon and it was only 8:30 AM. Plus, I didn't see anyone attending to the breakfast area. Otherwise, my choices were a selection of dough nuts. I left and went to a nearby Pancake house for breakfast.

On a minor note, the decor of the room itself was just fine, but the decor of the hallways, in my opinion - is just plain ugly. Not a big deal though.

I would probably look elsewhere next time I'm staying in the area. If a hot breakfast if offered, I expect there to be an adequate hot breakfast. They failed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I worked in Salem for almost a year. Stayed here at Comfort Suites 3 nights a week during the length of the project. The staff here was amazing. The sweet breakfast lady always made sure I had everything I needed and wanted. Emily, who works behind the front desk in the evenings was always pleasant, friendly and patient (my work schedule changed week to week and at times very confusing). Cleaning staff did not disappoint. They were always laughing, had positive attitudes and did a fantastic job. Gabrielle, hotel manager, was professional and caring. She went out of her way to make sure she asked me how my day was and if I needed anything. Ok, on to price. They gave me a excellent rate because of my length of stay. But with the cleanliness, friendliness and location of this hotel, I would chose to stay here at full price over others in the area. I stay out of town on a regular basis and this hotel has been one of the best! Rooms are adequate and lack nothing. I have almost stayed in every room in the hotel and they are all in good condition. They have a snack corner behind the front shelf that is always stocked and has just about any item that you may crave. overall, this hotel and staff went above and beyond my expectations the year I stayed with them. I can honestly say I miss my home away from home.

Room Tip: Better view of the city from rooms on the back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I wrote an earlier review of this hotel, in which I mentioned it being overpriced. I retracted that review and am now writing this one, because we paid $119, not $150. I would say it's still a tad pricey for Salem, VA, but not horrible. The hotel was a mixed bag for me, but mostly positive. Some of the staff members were very friendly and helpful, and some seemed like they couldn't care less. The location is good and safe, right off I-81, and fairly close to many stores and restaurants. The lobby is modern, and far more attractive than most. The room was very nice, with a half-wall partition between the bed area and the rest of the suite. The A/C worked much better than some, including many higher priced hotels in bigger cities, and A/C is a biggie for me. The bed and pillows were excellent. The bathroom was very nice, with a large and powerful shower head that was much better than the shower head of the hotel I had stayed in the previous week in Las Vegas. The complimentary breakfast was mediocre, but the coffee was better than most and was offered beyond the breakfast hours. Parking was somewhat limited in the front, but there is parking in the back, but that area is very secluded and didn't seem nearly as safe as the front. All in all, it was a mixed bag, as many hotels are, but it was mostly positive for this traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville, MD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Fri night - the desk help seemed to be away more than on. The décor is up-to-date in varying shades of everything. Kroeger market is just down the hill. there is an outdoor pool and hot tub. No work-out center. Usual good hot breakfast bar.

My only complaint is about the loveseat in our suite - sagged in the middle quite a bit.
The bedding was warm and comfy and their heat/AC unit worked like a champ.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with the number 3 (for instance 379) are on the top floor, which is the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karensquirkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csridgewood, General Manager at Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will be using this information to continue to create enjoyable experiences for each of our guests. I invite you to experience our exercise room that is located on the first floor of our facility, ground level with the pool. We have recently updated the area and our equipment with a treadmill, free weights, and much more! We hope to see you again soon!


Thank you,

Gabrielle Liegey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Property: Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing