We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean luxury on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean luxury on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopping just for the night as we head home to PA, I booked this room from the road the afternoon of our arrival. You never know what you might find when you do that, and we had to drive a few miles off of I-81 to get here, but it was completely worth it. The lobby, pool area, public spaces inside, and the room were clean, clean, clean! Such a thrill and a relief to have a clean and fresh-smelling room after a long driving day. Lots of bugs in the pool, but we may have landed between skimmings. The front desk clerk was efficient and helpful, the shower had terrific pressure and plenty of elbow room, and the bed was super comfortable - I love the soft, large pillows - they provide plenty!

I would definitely stay here again - no hesitation - I'm impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csridgewood, General Manager at Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us even if it was short term! We hope you will come back and visit soon.

Thank you,

Gabrielle Liegey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    11
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
24
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days a week for 13 weeks, so I was able to see the staff in all kinds of situations. I wouldn't have considered staying anywhere else while I was in Salem. Thank you
Heather, your kindness and attention to detail was greatly appreciated, you are one of the reasons I kept coming back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 208Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Got caught in a surprise snow storm and decided to stop here, Great choice in a beautiful location! Delicious, free breakfast. Quiet hotel.Liked it so much we would consider coming back here for a visit instead of passing through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. Decent rate, but not a great deal. Good fast WiFi supports streaming video, Skype video, NetFlix, etc. Clean, fresh-smelling bed linens appeared to be almost new. Lots of AC outlet locations for chargers, computer plug in. Nice young lady behind the counter.
Couple of cons:
One thing that just didn't fit was the TV. They have nice, large Flat-screen TV's, but the cable feed in the rooms is std. definition and old aspect ratio. So the picture sits in the middle of the screen with a large, unused black border around it, looking just like the old TV they took out probably last year. They need to upgrade their cable service to match the nice TV they have in the rooms.

Secondly, the fitness room was missing a treadmill! Go figure. They had an eliptical device and a weight machine, but no treadmill. Hopefully, they will reconsider this omission and get one in there for business people. Not everyone can lift weights to get their heart rate up, right?

Ceilings seemed a little "thin", since I could hear the guy upstairs when he took a leak.

Bottom line: Place is OK, but better values from Choice exist in the same area. Probably won't use this property unless they get a treadmill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel. Every year, the 1st weekend in October, there is a VA Goldwing Rally in Salem. First two years this hotel was 'good.' This year, it was not good. Upon arrival at 3:30 on a Thursday, we were assigned room 118. We took our luggage to the room to discover the room was 'stripped.' No sheets, no blankets, no towels, etc with door open so we concluded room was being cleaned. We took our luggage back to our vehicle and returned to desk, told the clerk about the room and she said, 'it'll be ready sometime today.' Like maybe when we're ready for bed or what? We left to attend the rally functions. When we returned at 9pm we again lugged our luggage downstairs. Upon opening the room door, we found the room in the exact same state: no linens, etc so we dragged our stuff back upstairs. When we told the clerk, she was like, 'oh, well, let me find you another room.' We were given room 307. This room was fine (it had sheets and linens so we weren't complaining.) The ice machines on all floors were not working. On Saturday, we left our room at 11am and returned at 3pm. Due to bad weather we had decided to check out early so we returned to the hotel to get our luggage. Our room had not been cleaned. We took our luggage to our vehicle and went to check out. I asked why our room had not been cleaned and the clerk stated that a 'housekeeper had called in sick.' So I guess you just don't get your room cleaned when that happens. The clerk had trouble checking us out, stating she usually only checks people in, she called someone for help and eventually we departed. The hotel is conveniently located near the LewisGaleMedical Center and is next to a Kroger shopping center.

Room Tip: One with sheets/linens would be good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Top notch place. Clean. Staff helpful. They even provide a varying menu of eggs, omelets sausages etc for breakfast. This has consistently been a good place stay. One of the best Comfort Inns. It is a little difficult to get to their parking lot. A GPS is helpful, but it is worth getting to, and you are not faced with much traffic getting there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copper2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was the choice of traveling companion. The beds in the first toe rooms were dirty and the third room was a clean bed. At that point I didn't care that housekeeping was an option. I will not stay in this hotel again. The front desk staff was accommodating in finding a clean room. I stayed there 3 days and the room was never vacuumed, I was too afraid to open the refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Property: Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing